Mullins Named MAC Trophy Finalist

Dec. 6, 2012

KANSAS CITY, Kan. - Maryland forward Patrick Mullins has been named a finalist for the 2012 MAC Hermann Trophy, the highest individual award in intercollegiate soccer.

Mullins was named the ACC Offensive Player of the Year after leading the league in goals (16) and points (40) in 2012. He was tabbed ACC Championship Most Valuable Player after guiding the Terps to their second conference championship in the past three seasons.

A first team All-ACC selection, the New Orleans, La., native has tallied seven game-winners and registered a career-high eight assists as a junior captain of the highest remaining seed in the NCAA tournament.

Notre Dame forward Ryan Finley and Creighton midfielder Jose Gomez join Mullins as finalists.

The award, to be presented Jan. 11 at a banquet at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis, will be voted on by NSCAA member coaches with finalists named Dec. 6.

Jason Garey is the Terps' lone MAC Hermann Trophy winner (2005).

The No. 2 seed Terps face No. 3 Georgetown at 5 p.m. on Friday in the semifinals of the 2012 NCAA Men's Soccer Championship.

Please use the hashtag #Mullins4MAC when referencing this year's MAC Hermann Trophy on social media platforms.