Three Terps Earn ACC Honors

March 29, 2013

GREENSBORO, N.C. - Josh Asper, Christian Boley and Jimmy Sheptock have been named to the All-Atlantic Coast Conference Wrestling Team, the conference announced Friday.

Asper is a four-time honoree, while Boley and Sheptock have been named to the team for a second consecutive year.

At 184 pounds, Sheptock earned All-Americans honors with a sixth-place finish at the NCAA Championships in Des Moines last weekend. Sheptock, a two-time ACC champion, finished the season with a team-high 40 wins. The junior was 21-0 in dual matches and is 34-0 in his career. This season, Sheptock was only taken to the mat once during a dual.

At 174 pounds, Josh Asper earned All-ACC honors for a fourth consecutive year. The Parkton, Md., captured his second ACC title, first at 174 after moving up from 165, with a dominant performance at the ACC Championship. Asper reached the quarterfinals of the NCAA Championships and finished an injury-shorten season with a 21-3 record.

Boley won his second ACC championship at 197 with a 7-2 decision over Mike Salopek of Virginia. The junior won three matches in the wrestleback in the NCAA Tournament falling one win shy of All-American status. Boley wrapped up the season with a 27-8 record.

Virginia Tech's Peter Yates was voted as the ACC Wrestler of the Year. North Carolina's Nathan Kraisser earned ACC Freshman of the Year honors. ACC Head of the Year went to Virginia Tech's Kevin Dresser.

To see the complete All-ACC team, visit

- Terps -