ACC Postgrad Scholarships Awarded to Three Terps

Feb. 21, 2013

COLLEGE PARK, Md. - The Atlantic Coast Conference has selected Owen Blye (Men's Lacrosse), A.J. Francis (Football) and Katie Schwarzmann (Women's Lacrosse) for the Weaver-James-Corrigan Postgraduate Scholarship Award for 2013.

ACC Commissioner, John D. Swofford, announced on Wednesday the 36 student-athletes who have been honored with this award.

The Weaver-James-Corrigan scholarships are awarded to three student-athletes at each league institution. The awards are based on academic record, athletic versatility, interest in university and community life, and the athlete's commitment to ideals and values in their professional lives. Recipients will receive $5,000 to contribute to their graduate education.

Chris Uchacz, Associate Director of Athletics, shared his pride about Maryland's recipients this year. "The ACC Postgraduate is an extremely prestigious award with a long history and we are very excited that Katie, A.J., and Owen were recently named as recipients," Uchacz said. "All three will be pursuing Master's level work next year and are outstanding examples of the types of leaders the university is producing that will have an impact on the local, state and global communities. Congratulations to each of them!"

The award is named in honor of the late Jim Weaver and Bob James, as well as Gene Corrigan. All three are former ACC commissioners.

The recipients of this year's award will be honored on April 17, 2013 at the Koury Convention Center in Greensboro, N.C.