Sheptock Voted Terps' Wrestler of the Year

April 9, 2013

COLLEGE PARK, Md. - Following a sixth-place finish at the NCAA Championships and earning All-American honors for the first time, Maryland junior Jimmy Sheptock earned the John C. McHugh Most Outstanding Wrestler of the Year award Sunday afternoon at the Spring Wrestling Awards Banquet held in Colony Ballroom at the Adele Stamp Student Union.

Sheptock, who won his second ACC title and first at 184, finished the season with a record of 40-6 to lead the team in wins. At the NCAA Championships, Sheptock defeated fifth-seeded Kevin Steinhaus of Minnesota to secure All-American status.

The junior also was a perfect 21-0 in duals. In his 21 dual matches, Sheptock was only taken down once.

"It was a great way to finish a pretty good season," said head coach Kerry McCoy. "The most special part of the night is when the seniors gave their speeches. Everybody gets up there and has a chance to reflect on their time here. With their perspectives on everything, it was good to hear those.

"The great thing about our awards is they are based on a vote by the team. All-in-all, we had some great administrative support at the banquet. It was a good way to finish the year and build for the future."

Shyheim Brown took home two awards. Brown, who compiled an overall record of 32-9 at 141 pounds, won both Freshman of the Year and Redshirt of the Year.

Two-time ACC champion Josh Asper took home the Kevin R. Kearns Award for the senior who contributed the most to wrestling at Maryland.

After winning Freshman of the Year last season, sophomore Geoffrey Alexander had another great year at 133 pounds and earned the Curt Callahan Mental Toughness Award.

Senior Aaron Norris won the Tom Norris Unsung Hero Award for his leadership during the season, while junior Frank Goodwin was voted Most Improved.

Team awards were voted on by the coaching staff and student-athletes.

The evening concluded with speeches from its six seniors: Josh Asper, Aaron Norris, Danny O'Malley and Ian Squires, along with team manager Marie Hutton. The group of seven shared their fondest memories with the attendees.

The team also recognized the Hudson Taylor Award winners, which recognizes the most outstanding wrestler at each home dual meet. The following wrestlers won the award during the year: Alexander (5), Arechiga (1), Asper (1), Christian Boley (1), Shane Gentry (1) and Sheptock (1).

The Terps finished the season 14-8 and sent five wrestlers (Alexander, Asper, Boley, Goodwin and Sheptock) to the NCAA Championships in Des Moines.

- Maryland -