ACC 50th Anniversary Wrestling Team Announced

Maryland Athletics
Print RSS

Aug. 18, 2002

GREENSBORO, N.C. - The Atlantic Coast Conference 50th Anniversary Wrestling Team was announced by Commissioner John Swofford.

The 50-member team was voted on by the five league institutions that sponsor the sport as decided by the league's 50th Anniversary Committee.

North Carolina and NC State led all league schools, each with 15 members on the Golden Anniversary team while Maryland was second with 10 honorees. Virginia had seven players selected, followed by Clemson with three.

Maryland honorees were Marshal Dauberman, Tim Geiger, Jim Guzzio, Gobel Kline, Bob Kopinsky, David Land, Tom Miller, Steve Peperak, Tom Reese, and Mike Sandusky. The ACC's 50th Anniversary Wrestling team, in alphabetical order, is as follows:

ACC 50th Anniversary Wrestling Team
Stan Banks North Carolina 1992-1995 Charlotte, N.C. Lenny Bernstein North Carolina 1985-1988 Rockville, Md. Shane Camera North Carolina 1990-1994 Rochester, Mich. Derek Capanna Virginia 1985-1989 Bound Brook, N.J. Frank Castrignano NC State 1979-1982 Wilkes-Barre, Pa. Enzo Catullo North Carolina 1987-1990 Summit, N.J. Dave Cooke North Carolina 1978-1982 Midlothian, Va. Marshal Dauberman Maryland 1962-1964 Selinsgrove, Pa. Steve Garland Virginia 1996-2000 Middletown, N.Y. Tim Geiger Maryland 1963-1965 Kensington, Md. Jim Guzzio Maryland 1995-1997 Madison, Conn. Jim Harshaw Virginia 1994-1999 Cranberry Township, Pa. Justin Harty North Carolina 1993-1997 Lead, S.D. Donnie Heckel Clemson 1987-1991 Edmonk, Okla. Sam Henson Clemson 1993-1994 St. Charles, Mo. Brian Jackson NC State 1989 St. Louis, Mo. T.J. Jaworsky North Carolina 1993-1995 Edmond, Okla. Henry Jordan Virginia 1953-1957 Warwick, Va. Gobel Kline Maryland 1967-1969 Beaver Spring, Pa. Rob Koll North Carolina 1985-1988 State College, Pa. Mike Koob NC State 1977-1980 Endicott, N.Y. Bob Kopnisky Maryland 1963-1965 Pittsburgh, Pa. Mike Krafchick Virginia 1990-1995 West Chester, Pa. Chris Kwortovik NC State 1991-1994 Lensdale, Pa. David Land Maryland 1995-1997 Laurel, Md. Joe Lidowski NC State 1977-1980 West Babylon, N.Y. Noel Loban Clemson 1977-1980 Amityville, N.Y. John Matyiko Virginia 1986-1991 Virginia Beach, Va. Jan Michaels North Carolina 1981-1984 Vernon, N.J. Mike Miller NC State 1992-1993, East Hanover, N.J. 1995-96 Tom Miller Maryland 1995-1997 Elizabethtown, Pa. C.D. Mock North Carolina 1978-1982 Holland, Pa. Bob Monaghan North Carolina 1979-1982 Wrightstown, Pa. Chris Mondragon NC State 1981-1984 Lakewood, Colo. Al Palacio North Carolina 1982-1987 Long Beach, N.Y. Steve Peperak Maryland 1985-1987 Connellsville, Pa. Tom Reese Maryland 1986-1988 Millers, Md. Matt Reiss NC State 1980-1982 Bethlehem, Pa. Matt Roth Virginia 1994-1999 Wescosville, Pa. Mike Sandusky Maryland 1955-1957 Manville, N.J. Bob Shriner North Carolina 1983-1986 Roselle Park, N.J. Marc Sodano NC State 1986-1987 Warrington, Pa. Jody Staylor North Carolina 1991-1992 Virginia Beach, Va. Michael Stokes NC State 1986-1989 Tarboro, N.C. Sylvester Terkay NC State 1990-1993 Lawrence, Pa. Tab Thacker NC State 1981-1984 Winston-Salem, N.C. Scott Turner NC State 1984-1988 Easton, Pa. Steve Williams NC State 1989-1992 Plantation, Fla. Doug Wyland North Carolina 1988-1990 Pittsburgh, Pa. Jim Zenz NC State 1977-1980 Beriut, Lebanon