Four Terps Take Home Titles At Buffalo Open

Nov. 1, 2009

Complete Buffalo Open Results

BUFFALO, N.Y. The University of Maryland wrestling team opened the 2009-10 season Sunday at the Buffalo Open, with four Terps taking home individual titles.

While no team scores were kept, seven Terps reached the finals of their respective weight divisions, with James Knox (125), No. 4 Steven Bell (133), Kyle John (157) and No. 4 Mike Letts (174) winning titles.

"It was a good weekend," said head coach Kerry McCoy. "We saw some areas we need to continue to work on, so we'll give these guys a few days of rest before getting back to the drawing board and beginning preparations for our next matches."

Knox ran through the competition at 125 pounds, winning five straight decisions to claim the title.

Bell, wrestling unattached, picked up major decisions in the quarter and semifinals before earning a 7-2 decision over Kevin Smith of Buffalo in the championship match at 133 pounds.

Mookie Golden went 4-2 on the day, including a 16-0 tech fall 4:13 into his opening match, to finish fifth at 133.

At 141, Matt Bogusz took home third place. Bogusz won his first match by pin 2:20 in, rebounding to win two matches after a semifinal loss to Dane Johnson of Pittsburgh.

Jon Kohler won four straight matches before falling 10-7 to Desmond Green of Buffalo in the finals at 149.

The Terps got their third title of the day at 157 pounds, as sophomore Kyle John went 4-0 with a 7-2 decision over Andy Lamancusa of Merchurst in the championship match.

Maryland took home second and third place in the 165 pound division. Josh Asper went 4-1 with two major decisions to take second place, and freshman Jimmy Sheptock won his first three matches before falling in the semifinals and eventually taking third.

At 174, Letts opened with a pin in 3:07, and then won four more matches to earn the title.

Bradley Nielson and Christian Boley finished fourth at 184 and 197 pounds, respectively, for the Terps.

At heavyweight, Patrick Gilmore opened with an 11-2 major decision before earning a 19-3 tech fall in 6:58 in the second round. Gilmore won two more matches before falling 9-2 in the final to earn second place.

Other Maryland competitors included: Tommy Sitar, Owen Duffy, Danny O'Malley, Joey Boone, Bryan Osorio, Domenic DeRobertis, Danny Orem, Justin Cash, Andrik Cruz, Steven Gamble, Owen Smith, Dallas Brown, Ty Snook, and Ryan Gray.

The Terps return to College Park for their home opener, with dual matches scheduled against Drexel at 2:00 p.m. and York at 4:00 p.m. on Nov. 7.