Wrestling Hands Out Awards From 2005-06

May 18, 2006

COLLEGE PARK, Md. - The Maryland Terrapin wrestling program recently announced its team awards at a picnic in Whitney's Landing Beach in Severna Park, Md. Andrew Schlaffer was awarded the John McHugh Most Outstanding Wrestler Award, named after the legendary Terrapin coach.

In addition, seniors Adam DeCosmo, Adam James, Luke Stauffer, and Jason Gribschaw were awarded their letters. James also was awarded the Kevin Kearns Senior Achievement Award, named after the long-time contributor to the program.

Luke Stauffer was recognized with the Tom Norris Unsung Hero Award, in honor of the Vietnam veteran and author. Brendan Byrne was awarded the Curt Callahan Mental Toughness Award, named after the Terp alum.

Some new awards were also given out, including the Most Improved award that went to Adam DeCosmo. Hudson Taylor was named the Redshirt of the Year, while Freshman of the Year went to Alex Krom.

The final awards of the night, the Captain Awards for the Maryland wrestling team 2005-2006 season, went to Charlie Pinto, Jerad Villecco, and Jerry Afari.