#17 Terps Look to Win 24th ACC Title

March 1, 2012

LIKE! Maryland Athletics on Facebook

Follow UMTerps on Twitter

ACC Championships Central | ACC Wrestling Release

COLLEGE PARK, Md. - The 17th-ranked Maryland wrestling team travels to Chapel Hill, N.C., to compete at the 2012 Atlantic Coast Conference Championships on Saturday, March 3. The University of North Carolina is the host for this year's event. Action will begin at 11 a.m. inside of Carmichael Arena. The Terps (15-1, 4-1 ACC) will be seeking their 22nd conference title and fourth in the last five seasons.

Schedule of Events - Saturday, March 3
Doors Open - 10 a.m.
First Round - 11 a.m.
Semifinals - 1 p.m.
Consolation Semifinals - 3:30 p.m.
Consolation Finals - 5 p.m.
Finals - 7 p.m.

Maryland's Projected Lineup
125: Shane Gentry (13-5)
133: Geoffrey Alexander (20-9)
141: Frank Goodwin (10-10)
149: Ben Dorsay (15-9)
157: Kyle John (20-9)
165: No. 2 Josh Asper (23-0)
174: No. 11 Jimmy Sheptock (22-4)
184: Ty Snook (14-13)
197: No. 5 Christian Boley (28-1)
285: No. 7 Spencer Myers (19-5)

ACC Championships Results
Brackets and team standings will be available throughout the tournament at ACC Championships Central and through at Tournament Central.

Television Coverage
ESPN3 will carry the event live and in its entirety. There will be two streams each covering a separate mat. The championship bracket will be featured on mat 1 and the consolation bracket will be featured on mat 2. Check with your local internet provider on availability.

Social Media
Championship updates will be available through Twitter and Facebook or you can join the live interactive conversation at on Tournament Central.

ACC Success
After winning its 23rd conference championship last season in Charlottesville, Va., Maryland now has six more ACC titles than North Carolina who has the second-most and last won a championship in 2006. Maryland won 20 consecutive conference championships from 1954-1973.

Individually, the Terps have won 197 championships which is the most in the conference and 86 more than NC State (111) who is second. Maryland has eight three-time champions with Mike Letts (174) the most recent.

Planting The Seeds
The ACC announced the seeds for the tournament on Wednesday. The Terps grabbed four No. 1 seeds and two No. 2 seeds. Only Virginia has as many top seeds as Maryland.

The Terps' top-seeded wrestlers are junior Josh Asper (165), redshirt sophomore Jimmy Sheptock (174), redshirt sophomore Christian Boley (197) and sophomore Spencer Myers (285). Sophomores Shane Gentry (125) and Ben Dorsay (149) snagged No. 2 seeds.

Looking For Two
Asper and Myers will both be looking for their second ACC title in as many years. After finishing second in 2010, Asper topped Virginia Tech's Peter Yates, 9-3, to earn his first ACC crown in 2011, while Myers defeated David Marone of Virginia Tech in overtime in his conference tournament debut.

Fresh Faces
Five Terps will be making their ACC Championships debut: Freshman Geoffrey Alexander (133), sophomores Frank Goodwin (141) and Ben Dorsay (149), and redshirt sophomores Jimmy Sheptock (174) and Ty Snook (184).

Most Valuable Wrestler
A Maryland wrestler has won the honor 18 times in the tournament's 54-year history which is the most in the conference. NC State is second with 15.

Most recently, Mike Letts (174) won the award in 2011 after Hudson Taylor (197) received the honor in 2010.