Brackets Released For Des Moines

March 13, 2013

2013 NCAA Championship Brackets

COLLEGE PARK, Md. - The 330-person field for the 2013 NCAA Wrestling Championships in Des Moines was announced Wednesday by the NCAA. Five Maryland wrestlers discovered their opening round opponents for next week as the 44 at-large bids and brackets were released.

All five Terrapin entrants earned automatic qualification through their performance at the ACC Championships on Saturday.

Maryland's contingent is highlighted by two seeded wrestlers, Josh Asper and Jimmy Sheptock. Asper is seeded fifth at 174 pounds and is participating in his fourth NCAA tournament, while Sheptock is seeded seventh at 184 and is participating in his second consecutive tournament.

Asper is looking to become just the second Terrapin wrestler all-time to become a three-time All-American after placing sixth the past two years. Hudson Taylor earned All-American honors in 2008-10.

The Parkton, Md., native faces Kent State's Sam Wheeler in the opening round. Should Asper advance, he will take on the winner of the match between Navy's Matt Miller and John-Martin Cannon of Buffalo.

After missing out on All-American status by one match last year, Sheptock will open with Wyoming's Shane Woods. The junior defeated Woods in February by a 13-2 margin when Maryland and Wyoming faced off at the NWCA National Duals. With a victory, Sheptock will face the winner of Boise State's Jacob Swartz and Campbell's James Cook.

At 133, Geoffrey Alexander has been drawn into the bracket's pigtail match against Cal Poly's Devon Lotito. Making his second consecutive appearance in tournament, Alexander will draw third-seeded Tyler Graff of Wisconsin should he advance.

Second seed and 2012 All-American Kendric Maple of Oklahoma awaits Frank Goodwin at 141. Goodwin matched up with Maple at Midlands in December with the Oklahoma junior earning a 12-4 major decision. This is Goodwin's first berth in the NCAA tournament.

Christian Boley rounds out Maryland's 2013 participants. Boley faces 10th-seeded Scott Schiller of Minnesota in the opening round with the winner facing off against seventh-seeded Nathan Schiedel of Binghamton or Duke's Conner Hartmann.

The tournament begins Thursday, March 21 at Wells Fargo Center in Des Moines, Iowa, and concludes on Saturday, March 23.

To see the complete field of 330, visit