Thirteen Terps Earn NFHCA Academic Honors

Maryland Athletics
Print RSS

COLLEGE PARK, Md.  – Thirteen student-athletes on the Maryland field hockey team were named to the National Field Hockey Coaches Association’s National Academic Squad Wednesday.

Brooke Adler, Marissa Cutry, Julie Duncan, Logan Edmondson, Noelle Frost, Carrie Hanks, Lein Holsboer, Delaney Leathers, Kelee Lepage, Welma Luus, Lexi Silver, Emily Thomas, and Anouk van Asbeck were named to the National Academic Squad after earning a GPA of 3.30 through the fall 2016 semester.

Van Asbeck, a freshman from The Netherlands, was named a Scholar of Distinction for earning a GPA of 3.90 or higher.

This is Leathers’ fourth straight honor by the NFHCA, third for Adler and Luus, and second for Cutry, Duncan and Hanks.

As a team, the Terrapins were named a National Academic Squad by the NFHCA last week. They posted a GPA above 3.0 to be named a National Academic Team.

Maryland went 19-4 this year won the Big Ten regular season title with a 7-1 conference record. The Terrapins made their 20th straight NCAA Tournament appearance – which is the longest active streak in the country.