Kahoe, Wescott Named National Lacrosse Hall of Fame Inductees

Maryland Athletics
Print RSS

BALTIMORE, Md. - Former Terrapin goalkeepers Alex Kahoe and Denise Wescott were announced as two of the nine inductees of the Class of 2018 to the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame on Wednesday.

Kahoe was a three-time All-American at Maryland, earning first team honors in both 1999 and 2000, and second team honors in 1998. Kahoe was the ACC Goaltender of the Year in all four years of her Terrapin career and the National Goalie of the Year in both 1999 and 2000. She helped lead the Terps to four straight NCAA titles during her career, serving as team captain as a junior and senior.

The program’s all-time leader in saves with 968, Kahoe still holds the ACC record for most career saves and stands second all-time in NCAA history in saves. She was selected to both the ACC’s 50th Anniversary Team and the NCAA’s 25th Anniversary Team.

Kahoe was a member of the U.S. Women’s National Team Program from 1997-2005, and served as an alternate for the 2005 World Cup Team. In 2009, she played for Ireland’s World Cup Team.

A goalie with a career .699 save percentage, Westcott played for the Terps between 1978-80. Westcott allowed 222 goals in her career and accumulated 519 saves. Maryland had a combined 38-9-1 record during the time Wescott was in goal for the Terps. 

Wescott went on to serve at many different levels of women's lacrosse over four decades. Wescott served as president of the IWLCA (Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association) from 1999-2001 and as its treasurer for three years. She has been a member of the FIL’s (Federation of International Lacrosse) World Cup Committee since 2005 and served on the organization’s development committee for 14 years. She has served four terms on the NCAA Rules Committee, and was a US Lacrosse leadership volunteer for 10 years.

This year's nine-person class will be officially inducted in a ceremony on Saturday, September 29, at The Grand Lodge in Hunt Valley, Md.

In addition to Kahoe and Wescott the members of the 2018 induction class are: Kevin Cassese, Elizabeth Leigh Bradley Friedman, A.J. Haugen, Phyllis Kilgour, David Morrow, Ryan Powell and Tami Worley.

Tickets for the 2018 National Lacrosse Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony, sponsored by RPS Bollinger and the Markel Insurance Company, will be available to the public for purchase beginning August 1. Tickets will be sold online at