Holliday Named a National Radio Hall of Fame Nominee

Maryland Athletics
Print RSS

LOS ANGELES, Calif. – Johnny Holliday, who enters his 40th year as the Voice of the Terps during the upcoming 2018-19 season, has been named a nominee for the 2018 National Radio Hall of Fame, it was announced on Monday.

Holliday is nominated in the Longstanding Local/Regional (20 years or more) category alongside Mike Francesa (New York), Jim Kerr (New York) and Charles Laguidara (Boston). The nominations were determined by the National Radio Hall of Fame Nominating Committee. A voting panel comprised of nearly 1,000 industry professionals will receive confidential ballots from the online voting service, Votem, which is also used by the Rock n’ Roll Hall of Fame. Votes will be tallied by certified public accounting firm Miller Kaplan Arase, LLP.

Once a top-rated radio personality, Holliday is best known for his role as the play-by-play voice for University of Maryland football and basketball and for hosting the Washington Nationals pregame and postgame shows on MASN. Holliday, who just completed his 39th season broadcasting Maryland games, is a member of the Radio Television Broadcasters Hall of Fame and he has been honored by the National Football Foundation, the College Football Hall of Fame and the All-American Football Foundation. The annual Johnny Holliday Scholarship Classic golf tournament has raised more than $1 million for the Youth Leadership Foundation.

“I personally appreciate the challenging task that our Nominating Committee accepts each year to officially nominate talent from an infinite list of deserving individuals,” said National Radio Hall of Fame Chairman Kraig Kitchin. “Congratulations to this year’s nominees, an excellent selection of our industry’s finest.”

Inductees will be announced June 25. The induction ceremony will be held Thursday, Nov. 15 for the first time at New York City landmark Guastavino’s located in midtown Manhattan.

About the National Radio Hall of Fame and Museum of Broadcast Communications
The National Radio Hall of Fame honors notable radio personalities and showcases their accomplishments in the Chicago-based Museum of Broadcast Communications. Each year, 24 nominations in six categories are determined by the organization’s Nominating Committee, which is comprised of 25 industry leaders. The museum collects, preserves, and presents historic and contemporary radio and television content as well as educates, informs, and entertains the public through its archives, public programs, screenings, exhibits, publications and online access to its resources. The museum is located at 360 North State Street in downtown Chicago and was founded in 1983.