Whittle Named Tewaaraton Finalist

Maryland Athletics
Print RSS

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Senior Megan Whittle of the Maryland women’s lacrosse team was announced as one of the five finalists for the 2018 Tewaaraton Award Thursday evening.  

Whittle, one of the most decorated scorers in women’s lacrosse history, holds the all-time goal lead at Maryland, currently standing with 288 goals. The senior is one goal away from tying Gail Cummings for the second-most goals in NCAA history.  

A team captain, Whittle has played an essential role in the current 18-1 Maryland season, which included an undefeated mark in Big Ten play and the Big Ten Regular Season and Tournament Titles. Whittle currently leads the Terps and ranks sixth nationally with 74 goals, while also leading the team with 86 points. Excelling on free position, Whittle is third nationally with 1.68 free position goals per game.  

This season, Whittle has been named the Big Ten Attacker of the Year, the Big Ten Tournament MVP, named to the All-Big Ten Team, was selected as the IWLCA National Player of the Weeek and earned Big Ten Offensive Player of the Week honors four times.

This is Whittle’s first time being named a Tewaaraton finalist and continues Maryland’s legacy with this prestigious award.  

Maryland has produced eight Tewaaraton winners, the most in the history of the award, including winning it the past six years. Jen Adams won the first Tewaaraton in 2001, and Caitlyn Phipps earned the honor in 2010. Katie Schwarzmann won back-to-back Tewaaratons in 2012 and 2013. Taylor Cummings became the first ever three-time winner from 2014-16, while Zoe Stuckenberg took home the honors last year.  

The Terps have had 20 finalists in the 15 years of the award. This is the 12th straight season that Maryland has had at least one finalist for lacrosse’s most esteemed honor.  

Whittle is joined by Sam Apuzzo (Boston College), Kristen Gaudian (James Madison), Marie McCool (North Carolina) and Kylie Ohlmiller (Stony Brook). 

The Tewaaraton Award annually honors the top male and top female college lacrosse player in the United States. Finalists come from a pool of 25 men’s and 25 women’s nominees. The Tewaaraton recipients will be announced May 31.  

– Maryland –