Moore to be Recognized by the DC Touchdown Club

Maryland Athletics
Print RSS

WASHINGTON, D.C. – The DC Touchdown Club has announced that University of Maryland standout wide receiver DJ Moore will be recognized as the Washington Metro College Player of the Year at their annual awards banquet, which will be held at Congressional Country Club on Thursday, April 12.

Moore, who was named First Team All-Big Ten and the Richter-Howard Big Ten Receiver of the Year, led the league with a single-season Maryland record 80 receptions and 1,033 receiving yards in 2017. The Philadelphia native was one of just three receivers in the country to post 80 receptions, 1,000 receiving yards and eight touchdowns this past season.

“The D.C. area annually produces some of the top players in the nation and this year is no different,” DC Touchdown Club Executive Director Steve Beck said. “We are thrilled to honor DJ Moore as he begins the next step of his football journey.”

Moore ranked seventh nationally in total receptions in 2017 and ended his Maryland career with 146 career catches, a mark that ranks fifth in Maryland history. His 2,027 career receiving yards makes him just the fifth Terp to eclipse the 2,000 career receiving yards plateau.  

Moore is the third Terp to receive this honor from the DC Touchdown Club, joining Joe Vellano (2013) and Brad Craddock (2015). Former Maryland standout and NFL Pro Bowler Yannick Ngakoue was named the District High School Player of the Year in 2013 and current Terp running back Jake Funk was recognized as the Maryland State High School Player of the Year in 2016. The legendary voice of the Terrapins, Johnny Holliday, garnered the Lifetime Achievement Award from the DC Touchdown Club last year.

Moore is also being recognized by the Touchdown Club of Annapolis as Maryland's Most Outstanding Player in 2017. He’ll be honored on Thursday, Feb. 15th when he is presented with the Louis L. Goldstein Memorial Gold Helmet Award.