Fraser Named to Cheryl Miller Award Watch List

Maryland Athletics
Print RSS

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – Junior forward Brianna Fraser of the Maryland women’s basketball team is one of 20 of the top small forwards in the country named to the Cheryl Miller Award watch list Wednesday by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame.

Last season, Fraser saw action in all 35 games for the Terrapins, who advanced to the Sweet Sixteen. She averaged 6.1 points and 3.6 rebounds, while shooting 52 percent from the field. Fraser scored a career-high 18 points at Purdue last February. The Terrapins won their third straight Big Ten regular season and tournament titles.

As Maryland represented the U.S. in the World University Games this past summer, Fraser averaged 9.0 points with just under 4.0 rebounds per game for the U.S. Team USA went 5-1 in the tournament and picked up wins over Canada, Sweden, Poland, the Czech Republic and Uganda.

Named after the three-time Naismith Player of the Year, the annual award in its inaugural year recognizes the top small forwards in women’s NCAA Division I college basketball.

“Cheryl Miller was an unstoppable force on the court, legendarily scoring more than one hundred points in a single high school game,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. “At USC, Cheryl continued her dominance winning two NCAA Championships. When it comes to small forwards, no one has done it better and the young women recognized on this list should be honored to be associated with one of the game’s all- time greats.”

The Selection Committee for the Cheryl Miller Award is composed of top women’s college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, sports information directors and Hall of Famers. By mid-February, the watch list of 20 players for the 2018 Cheryl Miller Award will be narrowed to just 10. In March, five finalists will be presented to Ms. Miller and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. Fans will also have the opportunity to vote for their favorite finalist at

The winner of the 2018 Cheryl Miller Small Forward Award will be announced during ESPN2’s telecast of the national semifinal games in the 2018 NCAA Women’s Final Four in Columbus, Ohio on Friday, March 30.

Head coach Brenda Frese and the Terrapins begin the season ranked No. 13 in the USA Today Sports Preseason Coaches poll and No. 15 in the Associated Press poll.

Maryland will officially open its 2017-18 season on Friday vs. NCAA Tournament team Albany. The Terrapins and the Great Danes will tip off at 7 p.m. at the XFINITY Center. Later this weekend, Maryland will welcome 2017 NCAA Champion South Carolina to College Park on Monday, Nov. 13. 

For tickets, visit the Terrapin Ticket Office online here or call 1-800-IM-A-TERP.