stop

Maryland Announces 2018 Schedule

Maryland Athletics
10-27-2017
Print RSS

COLLEGE PARK, Md. – The Maryland gymnastics team will once again face a cadre of talented teams in 2018 as head coach Brett Nelligan announced the Terps’ schedule Friday.

“I think Terp Nation will have a lot of fun watching our team this season,” Nelligan said. “We have a lot of great competition in 2018, including some exciting meets in College Park. The team is young and talented, and we’re ready to start competing.”

The Terps return all-around competitors Alecia Farina and Kirsten Peterman, who each had standout freshman seasons in 2017. Maryland welcomes five freshman this year, who make up one of the program’s top recruiting classes.

Fans will have their first chance to see the squad at the team’s annual Red-Black meet on Friday, Dec. 8 in the XFINITY Center Pavilion.

The Terrapins start the 2018 season at the Little Boston Invitational against Towson and Temple on Saturday, Jan. 6.

Maryland opens Big Ten competition at Minnesota on Saturday, Jan. 13, where the Terps will also take on Winona State and Northern Illinois.

The Terrapins host their first home meets against a pair of conference foes. Maryland takes on Penn State on Friday, Jan. 19 before facing Iowa on Thursday, Jan. 25. The team goes back on the road at Michigan on Sunday, Feb. 4.

Maryland hosts a quad meet against Yale, Penn and Temple on Friday, March 2. The Terps take a short trip to Washington, D.C., to take on George Washington, Towson and Rutgers on Sunday, March 4.

The Terrapins compete in Philadelphia against Temple and Penn on Friday, March 11. Maryland hosts its final home meet against West Chester, Bridgeport, Southern Conn. State and Cornell on Sunday, March 11.

The Terps will compete in the annual Big Five Meet in East Lansing, Mich., this season on Sat., March 11. The Big Ten Championships will be in Champaign, Ill., on Saturday, March 24.

The 2018 NCAA Regionals will take place on Friday, April. 6. The NCAA Championships will be hosted in Fort Worth, Texas, from April 19-20.

All 2018 gymnastics meets will be held in the XFINITY Center main arena.

-Maryland-

LATEST HEADLINES