Wild Named to MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List

Maryland Athletics
Print RSS

ST. LOUIS, Mo. - Junior forward Gordon Wild has been named to the 2017 MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List, announced Tuesday by the United Soccer Coaches (formerly the NSCAA) and the Missouri Athletic Club.

The MAC Hermann Trophy is the most prestigious individual award in college soccer and is presented annually to the most outstanding male and female players of the year. This year’s winners will be announced Friday, Jan. 5, 2018 at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis.

A native of Cologne, Germany, Wild was the 2016 Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year, ranking in the top three nationally in both goals and points for the Big Ten tournament and regular season champion Terps. A First Team All-Big Ten pick, Wild also garnered Big Ten Tournament Most Valuable Offensive Player honors in his first season in College Park after transferring from USC Upstate where he scored 16 goals as a rookie. His 17 goals in 2016 were the most for a Terrapin since two-time MAC Hermann Trophy winner and current D.C. United forward Patrick Mullins.

Wild and Florida Gulf Coast University senior Albert Ruiz were both MAC Hermann Trophy finalists a year ago and lead a group of 31 players on the men’s Watch List for the upcoming 2017 season.

Season tickets are available now for $80 for adults and $50 for youth and seniors. Season tickets can be purchased here and include a limited edition 2017 Maryland Soccer scarf.