24 Terps Set to Open MLL Action

Maryland Athletics
Print RSS

COLLEGE PARK, Md. – A total of 24 Maryland men’s lacrosse alums are listed on opening day rosters as the 2017 Major League Lacrosse season kicks off this weekend across the country.

The defending champion Denver Outlaws, led by former Terps Jeremy Sieverts (’09) and Drew Snider (’12), open the season against the Charlotte Hounds which feature six former Terrapins.

The Chesapeake Bayhawks, coached by Brian Reese (’98), feature the most Terrapins (8) out of any professional team.

Joe Walters (’06), who will make his New York Lizards debut, is the longest tenured Terrapin in MLL as he begins his 11th season with a new team. He is currently Maryland’s all-time leader in goals (153).

In other news, 2016 alum Bryan Cole is currently listed as inactive for the Ohio Machine due to his obligations with the Georgia Swarm of the National Lacrosse League. Cole and the Swarm are enjoying the franchise’s best season in history, winning a franchise-record 11 games and clinching the top seed in the East Division.

Maryland head coach John Tillman has produced 26 MLL draft selections since taking over the program in 2011 – the most of any school in the country.

Team-By-Team Terrapin Breakdown

Atlanta Blaze (1): Jeff Reynolds (’10)

Boston Cannons (1): Joe LoCascio (’15)

Charlotte Hounds (6): Mike Chanenchuk (’14), Michael Ehrhardt (’14), John Haus (’13), Casey Ikeda (’15), Brett Schmidt (’11), Pat Young (’16)

Chesapeake Bayhawks (8): Niko Amato (’14), Jesse Bernhardt (’13), Jay Carlson (’15), Joe Cinosky (’08), Kevin Cooper (’13), Brian Farrell (’11), Brian Phipps (’10), Charlie Raffa (’15)

Denver Outlaws (2): Jeremy Sieverts (’09), Drew Snider (’12)

Florida Launch: Chris Mattes (Current Volunteer Asst. Coach)

New York Lizards (1): Joe Walters (’06)

Ohio Machine (3): Jake Bernhardt (’13), Kyle Bernlohr (’16), Bryan Cole (’16)

Rochester Rattlers (2): Greg Danseglio (’16), Matt Dunn (’16)