Terps Trio Set for DC Sports Hall of Fame

Maryland Athletics
Print RSS

COLLEGE PARK, Md.  – Three esteemed members of the Maryland athletics family, Juan Dixon, Brenda Frese and Tom McMillen, have been selected for induction into the Washington DC Sports Hall of Fame this summer. The nine total honorees will be inducted in a special ceremony on Sunday, July 9 at Nationals Park prior to the 1:35 p.m. game between the Washington Nationals and Atlanta Braves.

Joining the Terps’ trio in the class of 2017 is Bethesda native and two-time Olympian Katie Ledecky, 17- year NFL Commissioner Paul Tagliabue, retired sportscaster Glenn Harris, popular broadcaster and former Washington Post columnist Tony Kornheiser, heralded Washington Redskins defensive back and kick returner Mike Nelms and long-time Washington Capitals radio play-by-play announcer Ron Weber.

“This year’s inductees have clearly earned their places in joining the list of luminaries who have represented the Nation’s Capital region so admirably through their excellence and accomplishments in sports,” said DC Sports Hall of Fame committee chairman Bobby Goldwater. “We look forward to honoring them on July 9 at the induction ceremony at Nationals Park and the committee is grateful once again for the generous and enthusiastic support of Mark Lerner and the Washington Nationals.”

The DC Sports Hall of Fame selection committee includes co-chairmen emeritus and veteran D.C. sports executives Charlie Brotman and Andy Ockershausen, former radio and TV reporter/producer Brenda J. Curtis-Heiken, journalist David Elfin, Georgetown University Sports Industry Management master’s program adjunct professor and sports industry consultant Bobby Goldwater, Comcast SportsNet anchor/commentator Chick Hernandez, attorney Phil Hochberg, Washington Nationals vice chairman and principal owner Mark D. Lerner, Shirley Povich Center for Sports Journalism Director at the University of Maryland George Solomon, attorney Mark Tuohey, radio and television personality and former Washington Redskins tight end Rick “Doc” Walker, baseball commentator and historian Phil Wood and former Comcast SportsNet managing editor and Merrill College visiting professor Joe Yasharoff.

Nominees for inclusion must have gained prominence in the Washington area through their achievements in sports as an athlete, coach, owner, executive, member of the media or contributor. For more on the DC Sports Hall of Fame, click here.


One of the most celebrated players in Maryland history, Juan Dixon remains the all-time leading scorer in program history (2,269 points) after leading the Terrapins to their first national title in 2002 as a senior. As of 2013-14, Dixon holds six different records in program history, ranging from points, games played, steals and 3-pointers.

The Most Outstanding Player of the 2002 NCAA Final Four and ACC Player of the Year, Dixon earned two All-America selections, three first team All-ACC selections and two All-ACC Tournament selections throughout his illustrious career. Dixon averaged 16.1 points, 4.2 rebounds, 2.6 assists and 2.4 steals in 141 games from 1998-2002.

Dixon was drafted with the 17th pick of the 2002 NBA Draft by the Washington Wizards, where he spent three seasons. He signed with the Portland Trail Blazers in 2005, and averaged a career-high 12.3 points during his first season with the team. After stops in Toronto and Detroit, Dixon wrapped up his nine-year NBA career with the Wizards in 2008-09.

Following his professional playing career, Dixon returned to his alma mater where he served as the special assistant to head coach Mark Turgeon for three seasons between 2014-16. He earned a bachelor of science degree in Family Science in 2013. Dixon is currently the head women's basketball coach at the University of District of Columbia. 


In 18 years as a head coach, Brenda Frese has earned a record of 460-141 (.765) over her career, 403-111 (.784) in her 15 seasons at Maryland and 97-10 (.907) in the last three seasons. She’s led the Terrapins to 13 NCAA Tournament appearances, eight Sweet Sixteens, six Elite Eights, three Final Fours and the 2006 national championship.

Frese has won nine conference titles at Maryland, including the last three straight Big Ten regular season and tournament titles. She has led the Terrapins to a record of 58-3 (.951) in Big Ten play since they joined the league in 2014. She’s been named Coach of the Year in three leagues – the MAC, the ACC and the Big Ten – and was the Associated Press National Coach of the Year in 2002.

She has brought in 11 top ten recruiting classes over her 15 seasons, including six in the top five.

Her recruits have gone on to achieve success on and off the court, as the program holds a 100 percent graduation rate.

Her players have earned six conference player of the year honors, six conference freshmen of the year awards and numerous All-America honors. Thirteen of Frese’s players have been drafted in the WNBA, including eight in the top 10.


A Rhodes scholar and graduate of the University of Maryland, McMillen played on the US Olympic basketball team in 1972, and was a professional basketball player for 11 years in the NBA. He currently leads the Division 1A Athletic Directors’ Association as part of a major repurposing of that organization.

McMillen is also chairman and CEO of the investment firm Washington Capital Advisors. He serves as a director of RCS Capital, a full-service investment firm, and of Nexstar Broadcasting Group, a media and broadcast company.

McMillen is the former chairman and current treasurer of the National Foundation on Fitness, Sports and Nutrition. He was the United States Representative for Maryland’s 4th Congressional District for three terms. In that role, he championed several intercollegiate athletic reform measures, including the Student Right to Know Act, which required colleges to disclose the graduation rates of its student athletes.

Appointed to the President’s Council on Fitness and Sports in 1970 when he was a high school senior, he was later named co-chairman of the President’s Council in 1993, serving through 1997. From 2007 to 2015, he was as a member of the Board of Regents that governs the University of Maryland System. He is also the author of Out of Bounds, a critical look at the influence of sports on ethics.