Terrapins Celebrate Season with Banquet

Maryland Athletics
Print RSS

COLLEGE PARK, Md.  – The Maryland women's basketball team celebrated its Big Ten championship, Sweet Sixteen and 32-win season Thursday night with its annual banquet at the College Park Marriott Hotel & Conference Center.

Members of the team, staff, families, fans and the Terps' top supporters all celebrated the season in which the Terrapins went 32-3, won their third straight Big Ten regular season and tournament titles and advanced to the Sweet Sixteen.

Seniors Brionna Jones and Shatori Walker-Kimbrough were honored as the Terrapins’ Most Valuable Players. Jones led the Terrapins in scoring and rebounding with 19.9 points and 10.9 boards per game. Her 697 points this season set a school record for points in a season. She led the nation in field goal percentage at 69.0 percent for the second straight year.

Walker-Kimbrough averaged 18.8 points per game while shooting 45.0 percent. She also had 125 assists. Walker-Kimbrough is No. 4 on Maryland's all-time scoring list with 2,156 career points. Her career three-point percentage of 45.9 percent is the best in Maryland history, ahead of Toliver's 40.8 percent, and is a Big Ten record.

Junior Kristen Confroy earned the Ms. Maryland Award for her an honor given to the student-athlete who demonstrates passion, discipline, academic commitment, honesty, respect, gratitude, commitment to the community and loyalty to the team.

Freshman Kaila Charles was awarded the Rookie Impact award. She started in all 35 games and averaged 9.7 points and 5.6 boards per game, while averaging 51 percent from the field with 44 steals and 43 assists on the year. She was named to the All-Big Ten Freshman Team last month.

Sophomore Brianna Fraser earned the Most Improved Award. She saw action in all 35 games, averaging 6.1 points and 3.6 rebounds with 28 blocks, 18 assists this season.

Bradley Wilson, one of the Terrapins’ most supportive fans, was awarded the Terp Spirit Award for his dedication to the team throughout the season.

Charles, Confroy, Stephanie Jones, Brionna Jones, Kiara Leslie, Sarah Myers and Ieshia Small were all honored with Scholar Athlete Awards for their outstanding work in the classroom.

Program manager Jennifer Elkonoh earned the Dedication and Service Awards for her commitment and service to the program and her willingness to help in whatever way necessary.