2017 Maryland Guide to the MLS SuperDraft

Maryland Athletics
Print RSS

COLLEGE PARK, Md. - The 2017 Major League Soccer SuperDraft kicks off in Los Angeles on Friday beginning at 3 p.m. on Rounds three and four will be held via conference call on January 17.

Suli Dainkeh and Chris Odoi-Atsem were among 53 NCAA Division I college players who participated in the 2017 adidas MLS Player Combine. Top collegiate players from across the country showcased their talents in front of representatives from all 22 MLS clubs in Los Angeles. Head coach Sasho Cirovski will serve as an analyst on the live broadcast of this year’s draft.

Dainkeh, a native of Reston, Va., started all 21 matches for the Terps, helping aid one of the top backlines in the nation. Maryland finished the regular season unbeaten (16-0-2). His first career goal was the game-winner at Michigan to preserve an unbeaten regular season. Dainkeh also notched an assist versus Wisconsin in the Big Ten championship game during his final campaign.

Odoi-Atsem, a four-year starter for the Terps, was a first team All-Big Ten pick as a senior in 2016 while leading Maryland to an incredible 15-game winning and 25-match unbeaten streak, dating back to the 2015 season. Hailing from Mitchellville, Md., Odoi-Atsem guided the Terps to a third straight Big Ten tournament title and fourth conference tournament championship overall. He also helped Maryland match a school-record with five consecutive shutouts and capped the year with one goal and six assists.

2016 Big Ten Defender of the Year and NSCAA First Team All-American Alex Crognale signed a Homegrown contract with the Columbus Crew in late December.

Last season, Tsubasa Endoh and Ivan Magalhaes were selected in the first and second round, respectively, of the MLS SuperDraft, marking the 13th straight season Maryland boasted at least one selection. 

Below is a breakdown of Terps and the MLS SuperDraft:

2016 – Ivan Magalhaes, second round (26th overall)
2016 – Tsubasa Endoh, first round (9th overall)
2015 – Alex Shinsky, fourth round (68th overall)
2015 – Dan Metzger, second round (42nd overall)
2014 – Patrick Mullins, first round (11th overall)
2014 – Schillo Tshuma, first round (17th overall)
2013 - John Stertzer, first round (12th overall)
2013 - Taylor Kemp, first round (17th overall)
2012 - Casey Townsend, first round (fifth overall)
2011 - Zac MacMath, first round (fifth overall)
2011 - Billy Cortes, third round (38th overall)
2011 - Jason Herrick, third round (45th overall)
2010 - Drew Yates, second round (29th overall)
2010 - Kevin Tangney, third round (35th overall)
2009 - Omar Gonzalez, first round (third overall)
2009 - Rodney Wallace, first round (sixth overall)
2009 - Jeremy Hall, first round (11th overall)
2009 - A.J. Delagarza, second round (19th overall)
2009 - Graham Zusi, second round (23rd overall)
2008 - Stephen King, third round (40th overall)
2007 - Maurice Edu, first round (first overall)
2007 - Chris Seitz, first round (fourth overall)
2006 - Jason Garey, first round, (third overall)
2006 - Marc Burch, second round (24th overall)
2006 - Michael Dello-Russo, fourth round (42nd overall)
2006 - Kenney Bertz, fourth round (47th overall)
2005 - Domenic Mediate, second round (23rd overall)
2005 - Abe Thompson, supplemental draft second round (16th overall)
2005 - Noah Palmer, supplemental draft third round (25th overall)
2004 - Clarence Goodson, first round (seventh overall)
2004 - Scott Buete, first round (ninth overall)
2004 - Seth Stammler, second round (18th overall)
2004 - Sumed Ibrahim, second round (20th overall)
2002 - Taylor Twellman, first round (second overall)
2001 - Nick Downing, second round (21st overall)
2000 - Dan Califf, first round (sixth overall)
1999 - Keith Beach, second round (17th overall)
1999 - Randy Merkel, third round (33rd overall)
1998 - Leo Cullen, first round (first overall)
1998 - R.T. Moore, third round (34th overall)