Luus Named Honda Sports Award Nominee

Maryland Athletics
Print RSS

COLLEGE PARK, Md. -  Senior Welma Luus of the Maryland field hockey team is one of four nominees for the Honda Sport Award for Field Hockey as announced by Chris Voelz, Executive Director of the Collegiate Women Sports Awards (CWSA) Thursday.

The Honda Sport Award has been presented annually by the CWSA for the past 41 years to the top women athletes in 12 NCAA- sanctioned sports and signifies “the best of the best in collegiate athletics”.  The winner of the sport award becomes a finalist for the Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year and the prestigious 2017 Honda Cup which will be presented on a live telecast on CBS Sports Network on Monday, June 26, 2017, in downtown Los Angeles.

The nominees were chosen by a panel of coaches representing the National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA). The Honda Sport award winner for field hockey will be announced next week after voting by administrators from over 1,000 NCAA member schools. Each NCAA member institution has a vote.

Luus, a team co-captain, was named the 2016 Big Ten Player of the Year and a 2016 NFHCA first-team All-American. A Pretoria South Africa native, she is also a first-team All-Big Ten honoree and a two-time NFHCA All-Mid-Atlantic Region first-team member. She led the Terps with 15 goals and added eight assists this year.

Last year, Luus earned Second Team All-America honors, as well as All-Big Ten honors.

Luus is one of four nominees, joined by Charlotte Veitner (Connecticut), Paula Heuser (Albany) and Greta Nauck (Delaware). Click here for the full release.

Five Terrapins have won seven Honda Sports Awards. Autumn Welsh was the first Terrapin to win in 2001. Paula Infante received the honor in 2005 and 2006 and Susie Rowe claimed it in 2008. Katie O’Donnell Bam earned the Honda Sports Award in 2009 and 2010 and Megan Frazer received it in 2011.

Head coach Missy Meharg and the staff led the Terrapins to an 18-5 record this season and their third straight Big Ten regular season title. They made the program’s 22nd straight NCAA Tournament appearance this season, marking the longest current active streak in the country.