Wild Set for MAC Hermann Trophy Ceremony Friday

Maryland Athletics
Print RSS

ST. LOUIS - Sophomore forward Gordon Wild will compete as one of three finalists for the 2016 MAC Hermann Trophy, the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) announced on Friday at a banquet at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis.

An NSCAA First Team All-American and the Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year, Wild ranked in the top three nationally in both goals and points for the Big Ten tournament and regular season champion Terps. A First Team All-Big Ten pick, Wild also garnered Big Ten Tournament Most Valuable Offensive Player honors in his first season in College Park after transferring from USC Upstate where he scored 16 goals as a rookie. His 17 goals in 2016 are the most for a Terrapin since two-time MAC Hermann Trophy winner Patrick Mullins and rank seventh all-time in Maryland single-season annals.

Wake Forest senior midfielder Ian Harkes and Florida Gulf Coast University junior forward Albert Ruiz (Barcelona, Spain) join Wild as finalists for the most prestigious award in college soccer.

The MAC Hermann Trophy, the most coveted individual honor in NCAA Division I soccer, has been awarded annually since 1967.

Jason Garey (2005) and Patrick Mullins (2012, 13) are previous winners for Maryland.