Terps Celebrate Season with Annual Banquet

Maryland Athletics
Print RSS

COLLEGE PARK, Md. -  The Maryland field hockey team honored its five seniors and celebrated the 2016 season with its annual banquet Sunday at the XFINITY Center in College Park. The Terrapins also celebrated their third straight Big Ten regular season title.

Supporters, friends and family honored the eight seniors in Grace Balsdon, Courtney Deena, Delaney Leathers, Welma Luus and Emma Rissinger for their outstanding careers. They earned a record of 78-15 in their time at Maryland, played in a Final Four, won an ACC title and won three Big Ten titles.

Head coach Missy Meharg and the staff led the Terrapins to an 18-5 record this season and their third straight Big Ten regular season title. They made the program’s 22nd straight NCAA Tournament appearance, marking the longest current active streak in the country.

Members of the team were honored with their Varsity letters for their performances this season and the seniors were granted their membership to the M Club. Several members of the team were honored with individual awards, named after legendary players in the program.

Balsdon was awarded the Kate Kauffman-Beach Award, an honor that goes to a player that epitomizes the "world class" hockey player that demonstrates the technical and tactical skills coupled with the heart of a champion.

Junior Carrie Hanks received the Sabrina Salam Award, an honor given to upperclassmen that demonstrate an elite level of quality of life academically, socially, athletically and spiritually while exemplifying a championship lifestyle.

The Kateri Simon Award is the team's Unsung Hero honor. Redshirt junior Brooke Adler was named the recipient as the athlete that has persevered in times of adversity and has displayed talent, courage and perseverance while serving the team as her first priority.

Junior Lein Holsboer received the Carla Tagliente Award, the honor given to the student-athlete who has most consistently displayed excellence on the field and in the classroom by her commitment to preparation and execution.

Luus was honored with the Keli Smith Puzo Award. She was the player who was the team's 'straight shooter'. She was named as the player that wears her emotions on her sleeve and sets her sights on achieving the high level goals she sets for herself.

Rissinger received the Dina Rizzo Award, an honor that is not given every year, but only when an athlete truly deserves it, for those that lead by example with passion and commitment to winning. This player inspires everyone through a contagious work rate, a passion for her teammates and deep-rooted love for the game of field hockey.

Earlier this week, Luus, Balsdon and Holsboer earned NFHCA All-America honors. Luus was named to the First Team, while Balsdon and Holsboer were named to the Third Team.

Luus was also named Big Ten Player of the Year and Balsdon was named Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year.

Adler, Sarah Bates, Marissa Cutry, Julie Duncan, Hanks, Sarah Holliday, Holsboer, Leathers, Luus and Maddy Ulery earned All-Big Ten Academic honors this week as well. Click here for the full release.