Providence Stuns #1 Terps Sunday

Maryland Athletics
Print RSS

COLLEGE PARK, Md. – Providence scored four second-half goals to defeat top-seeded Maryland, 5-4, in the second round of the 2016 NCAA Men’s Soccer Championship Sunday at Ludwig Field.

For Maryland (18-1-2) the loss snapped an incredible 25-match unbeaten streak and clipped a 15-game winning streak. The five goals allowed Sunday were the most for a Maryland team at home since 1993. The Terps had not allowed more than two goals in a game this season.

The Terps struck first in the sixth minute when sophomore Gordon Wild connected for his 17th goal of the year on a free kick from 30 yards.

Providence answered with a score in the 11th minute but the Terps would go on to score three-consecutive goals – including a 40-foot tally and a rebound goal from Amar Sejdic and an Eryk Williamson strike from 10 yards) – for a 4-1 advantage in the 54th minute.

With the wind swirling, Providence scored the final four goals of the match – including an Olimpico game-winner in the 82nd minute – to hand Maryland its only loss of the season.

“This one is hard to process. It’s almost too unimaginable, too unbelievable to see it unfold right before your own eyes,” head coach Sasho Cirovski, who led the Terps to a 16th straight NCAA appearance this season, said. “We knew this was a game that with the wind swirling, there would be a lot of crazy things happening. I didn’t imagine anything this crazy. I thought we played well. To come out in the second half and take control of the game, we were in a very good spot and there were some unbelievable, incredible goals by Providence. You have to tip your hat to them, they didn’t quit. It’s just a hard one to process.

“I feel so empty for our players, our fans who have enjoyed our spectacular season. We’ll just have to get ready for next year.”

Sunday’s match was the Terrapin finale for seniors Cody Niedermeier, Alex Crognale, Chris Odoi-Atsem, Suli Dainkeh, Cody Albrecht and Emmanuel Korvah. The group helped guide Maryland to four-straight conference tournament championships – including the 2016 Big Ten title last weekend.