Terps Announce 2017 Schedule

Maryland Athletics
Print RSS
COLLEGE PARK, Md. – Coming off the program’s fourth straight NCAA Championship appearance and two Big Ten titles, head coach Cathy Reese announced the Maryland women’s lacrosse team’s 2017 schedule on Thursday.
“I think this is going to be a really exciting season for us,” Reese, who is the reigning Big Ten Coach of the Year, said. “We have a lot of strong opponents and we’re ready for a competitive season. This team is going to be really fun to watch, and I think our fans will enjoy seeing some of the nation’s top teams in College Park.”
Maryland will face 10 programs that finished the 2016 season ranked in the final IWLCA Coaches’ Poll while five of Maryland’s opponents were ranked in the top 10. Eleven of the Terps' foes in 2017 competed in last season's NCAA Tournament.
The Terps start the season on the road at William & Mary on Feb. 11 before taking a short trip to Georgetown on Feb. 18.
Maryland hosts North Carolina in its home opener on Feb. 25. The Terps and Tar Heels have faced off in the last two NCAA Championship games.
After a trip to Hofstra on March 4, Maryland returns to College Park for a four-game home stand against NCAA Tournament teams. The Terps take on Boston College (March 8) and Syracuse (March 11) before opening Big Ten play against conference newcomer Johns Hopkins (March 19). Maryland finishes the home stand with Penn on March 22.
The Terps compete at James Madison on March 25 before hosting Florida on March 29 and Michigan on April 1.
Maryland takes on Virginia (April 5) and Rutgers (April 8) on the road. The Terrapins host their final regular season home games against Princeton (April 12) and Ohio State (April 15).
The Terps finish the regular season on the road at Penn State (April 20) and Northwestern (April 27).
Maryland will host the Big Ten Tournament the season at the Field Hockey & Lacrosse Complex from May 4-7. The NCAA first and second rounds will take place May 12-14 at campus sites while the NCAA Quarterfinals will be May 20-21. The NCAA Final Four will take place May 26-28 at Gillette Stadium in Foxborough, Mass.
The Terps finished the 2015 season with a 22-1 overall record, including a 5-0 record in conference play. Maryland won the Big Ten regular season and tournament titles and advanced to the NCAA Championship game for the fourth straight season. The Terps return nine starters from last year’s squad, including All-Americans Zoe Stukenberg, Nadine Hadnagy and Megan Whittle. Maryland also welcomes the No. 1-ranked freshman class next season.