Reese Named IWLCA National Coach of the Year

Maryland Athletics
Print RSS

COLLEGE PARK, Md. - After guiding the Terrapins to their second national title in five years, Maryland women’s lacrosse head coach Cathy Reese was named IWLCA National Coach of the Year Monday morning.

Reese, who also garnered top coaching honors after capturing the national championship in 2010, led Maryland to a 23-1 record in 2014 en route to a sixth consecutive Atlantic Coast Conference title. She was also named ACC Coach of the Year for a league-high seventh time.

Under Reese’s direction, the Terps outscored opponents 350-191 and recorded wins against 14 squads ranked in the top 20. Maryland boasted six IWLCA All-Americans, including IWLCA National Midfielder of the Year Taylor Cummings and IWLCA National Defender of the Year Megan Douty. Cummings later became the only sophomore in history to win the Tewaaraton Award on the women’s side.

A mainstay in the storied Maryland women’s lacrosse program, Reese has played a role in nine national championships for the Terps, including four as a player, three as an assistant coach and two as a head coach.

2014 IWLCA National Coaches of the Year
Division I
Cathy Reese, University of Maryland

Division II
Rob Grella, Adelphi University
Division III
Jim Nestor, Salisbury University
2014 IWLCA Regional Coaches of the Year
Division I
Mid-Atlantic Region: Janine Tucker, Johns Hopkins University
Northeast Region: Acacia Walker, Boston College
South Region: Cathy Reese, University of Maryland
West/Midwest Region: Kellie Young, University of Louisville
Division II
North Region: Rob Grella, Adelphi University
South Region: Kristen Selvage, Lock Haven University
Division III
Berkshire Region: Chris Paradis, Amherst College
Boardwalk Region: Sharon Pfluger, The College of New Jersey
Chesapeake Region: Jim Nestor, Salisbury University
Empire Region: Kathy Taylor, SUNY Cortland
Great Lakes Region: Sara Tisdale, Augustana College
Metro Region: Jackie Neary, Cabrini College
Pilgrim Region: Courtney Duggan, Regis College
West Region: Susan Stuart, Colorado College