Four Terps Land on Preliminary US World Cup Roster

Maryland Athletics
Print RSS

CHICAGO Four former Maryland men’s soccer standouts have been tagged to the 30-man preliminary United States Men’s National Team roster for the upcoming 2014 FIFA World Cup in Brazil in June, announced by head coach Jurgen Klinsmann Monday.

Maurice Edu, Omar Gonzalez, Clarence Goodson and Graham Zusi have all landed on the heralded roster. A total of 16 players in the pool attended college and no other program in the country boasted more than one player on the roster.

“We are thrilled to congratulate Maurice, Omar, Clarence and Graham on this outstanding accomplishment and we are ecstatic they will have the chance to represent the United States on soccer’s biggest soccer stage,” head coach Sasho Cirovski said. “It gives our program a great sense of pride to have four former players named to this star-studded roster and, on behalf of Terp Nation, we wish them the best of luck at training camp.”

The 30 players will begin reporting to pre-World Cup camp on the campus of Stanford University in Palo Alto, Calif., on Wednesday. Klinsmann must whittle the 30-man roster down to 23 and submit his official World Cup roster to FIFA by June 2.

Camp runs until May 25 and will conclude with a friendly against Azerbaijan at San Francisco's Candlestick Park on May 27.

The team then heads east to face Turkey at Red Bull Arena on June 1 and Nigeria at Everbank Field in Jacksonville, Fla., on June 7 before flying to Brazil. They'll then play a closed-door scrimmage against fellow World Cup participants Belgium on June 12 in São Paulo, where the USMNT will be based during the tournament.

The Americans open their World Cup against Ghana in Natal on June 16.

Here is the full 30-man roster:

GOALKEEPERS (3): Brad Guzan (Aston Villa/England), Tim Howard (Everton/England), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)

DEFENDERS (11): DaMarcus Beasley (Puebla/Mexico), Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), John Brooks (Hertha Berlin/Germany), Geoff Cameron (Stoke City/England), Timmy Chandler (Nürnberg/Germany), Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders FC), Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy), Clarence Goodson (San Jose Earthquakes), Fabian Johnson (Hoffenheim/Germany), Michael Parkhurst (Columbus Crew), DeAndre Yedlin (Seattle Sounders)

MIDFIELDERS (10): Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Alejandro Bedoya (Nantes/France), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Joe Corona (Club Tijuana/Mexico), Brad Davis (Houston Dynamo), Mix Diskerud (Rosenborg/Norway), Maurice Edu (Philadelphia Union), Julian Green (Bayern Munich/Germany), Jermaine Jones (Besiktas/Turkey), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)

FORWARDS (6): Jozy Altidore (Sunderland/England), Terrence Boyd (Rapid Vienna/Austria), Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders), Landon Donovan (LA Galaxy), Aron Johannsson (AZ Alkmaar/Netherlands), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)