Proud Past Moment: Five Straight ACC Championships

Maryland Athletics
Print RSS

As the University of Maryland makes its transition from a storied history in the Atlantic Coast Conference to a promising future in the Big Ten conference, the Terps will reflect on special Proud Past moments during the 2014 campaign.

Maryland boasts an unprecedented run of five-straight ACC tournament championships heading into its final ACC Championship this weekend in Boston.  Maryland topped North Carolina 12-8 in Chapel Hill in 2013 to hoist the league championship trophy once again.

The Terps own 10 ACC tournament crowns, more than any other program in the conference. Maryland has trumped North Carolina four straight seasons in the tournament championship game and has done so by an average of 4.5 goals per contest.

Tewaaraton winners Katie Schwarzmann and Caitlyn McFadden have each garnered two Most Valuable Player honors during the stretch and the tournament victories have helped vault head coach Cathy Reese to five straight ACC Coach of the Year accolades.