Terps Head to Oklahoma City for NCAA Championships

Maryland Athletics
Print RSS

COLLEGE PARK, Md. - The Maryland wrestling team heads to Oklahoma City for the 2014 NCAA Wrestling Championships this week. The tournament runs from March 20-22 and will be held at the Chesapeake Energy Arena.

Senior Jimmy Sheptock is a legitimate threat to win Maryland’s first national championship since 1969. The 184-pounder is the first Terp wrestler to ever earn the top seed at NCAAs and holds a perfect 28-0 record this season.

The Northampton, Pa. native is not the only All-American heading to OKC. Heavyweight Spencer Myers, the sixth-place finisher in 2011, returned to the Terps’ lineup this season after a redshirt year and went 23-4 with losses coming only to top-10 opponents.

Two-time ACC Champion Christian Boley joins Myers and Sheptock as triple NCAA qualifiers. Known for his quickness, Boley will attempt to move through the tournament from the No. 9 seed after accumulating 22 wins this season.

Tyler Goodwin and Shyheim Brown round out the Terps’ contingent and are both first-time qualifiers. Goodwin was spectacular at the ACC Championships, pinning top-seeded Shelton Mack of Pittsburgh to reach the final and secure an NCAA berth.

Brown started the season 11-0 and climbed to as high as No. 8 nationally. After an uneven middle of the year, Brown ripped off five straight wins to end the regular season, which helped him secure a spot in Oklahoma City.  

Follow the Terps 

ESPN will provide coverage of all six sessions and every match of the Championships on multiple platforms. ESPN and ESPNU will show select coverage while ESPN3 will be the desitination for every match contested in Oklahoma City. ESPN3 will also offer multi-mat simultanious viewing. You can also view the coverage through the WatchESPN app on your mobile phone or tablet device.

2014 NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships Schedule

Date Time (ET) Session Number of Mats Network
Thu, March 20 Noon –  3:30 p.m. First Session Eight Mats ESPNU/ESPN3
  7 p.m. – 10:30 p.m. Second Session Eight Mats ESPNU/ESPN3
Fri, March 21 11 a.m. – 2 p.m. Third Session – Quarterfinals Eight Mats ESPNU/ESPN3
  8 p.m. – 11 p.m. Fourth Session – Semifinals Six Mats ESPN/ESPN3
Sat, March 22 11 a.m. – 2 p.m. Fifth Session – Medal Round Three Mats ESPNU/ESPN3
  8:00 p.m. – 11 p.m. Sixth Session – Championship Finals One Mat ESPN/ESPN3

Social Terps 

For up to the minute news on Maryland wrestling, follow the Terps on Twitter or like Maryland wrestling on Facebook. To join the conversation on Terps wrestling, make sure to include #Drivefor25 or #ACCWrestle.

Maryland's Probable Starters 
Wt. Wrestler Yr. Hometown W-L MD TF Falls
133 Tyler Goodwin  Fr. Gambrills, Md. 15-8 2-1 1-0 6-0
141 Shyheim Brown So. Harrisburg, Pa. 19-7 1-0 2-1 1-0
184 Jimmy Sheptock  Sr. Northampton, Pa. 28-0 6-0 3-0 6-0
197 Christian Boley Sr. Brockport, N.Y. 22-4 1-1 1-0 1-0
285 Spencer Myers  Jr. Selinsgrove, Pa. 23-4 1-0 4-0 3-0

ACC Legacy 

The 2014 ACC Championships were Maryland's last in the ACC.  The Terps have won a record 24 ACC wrestling titles.

"I think it has been a very mutually beneficial relationship,” head coach Kerry McCoy said. “In 60 years in the conference we’ve contributed some of the best wrestlers to come through the conference, both on and off the mat.”

The Terps boast 209 individual ACC champions. Brandon York is the only Terp to win four ACC individual titles, taking three at 133 pounds and one at 141 pound between 1999-2002. The Terps have three ACC champions currently on the roster in Sheptock (2012, 2013), Boley (2012, 2013) and Myers (2011, 2012).

Three Terps have won ACC Wrestler of the Year, James Guzzio (1997), Hudson Taylor (2008, 2010) and current administrative assistant Josh Asper (2011). McCoy has won three ACC Coach of the Year awards (2009, 2011, 2012) while John McHugh has two (1990, 1993) and Pat Santoro has one (2008).

“There was a time where our program was the dominant program and it made the other programs raise their level,” McCoy said. “Once they caught up to us, we had to reestablish our commitment to the sport and we got back on top. It’s a huge thing to be able to say we have the most team and individual championships”

Sensational Sheptock

Jimmy Sheptock led the team this season in wins (28), dual wins (17), dual points scored (74), dual major decisions (4), dual tech falls (3), dual pins (5) and dual bonus points scored (60).

The 2013 All-American has defeated seven ranked foes this season.

In January, he became the first wrestler in school history to be ranked No 1 in the country.

Hall of Fame Credentials 

Maryland head coach Kerry McCoy was named to the National Wrestling Hall of Fame's class of 2014, as announced by the organization. 

McCoy finished his college career at Penn State University with an overall record of 115-18. A three-time All-American, he won the NCAA Heavyweight Title in 1994 and 1997

Following his college career, McCoy starred for his United States, earning a sliver medal at the 2003 World Championships and winning five straight U.S Open Freestyle Championships from 2000-2004. McCoy twice represented the U.S. at the Olympic Games, finishing fifth in 2000 and seventh in 2004.

McCoy was named Maryland head coach in 2008 and has accumulated a 77-25-1 record over five years. A three-time ACC Coach of the Year, McCoy has won three ACC titles and coached seven All-Americans since he arrived in College Park.

“I’m truly honored and humbled by this,” McCoy said. “I’ve seen so many greats get into the hall and knowing my name will be listed with them is unbelievable. I’m so happy.”