Six Former Terps Named 2013 MLL All-Stars

Maryland Athletics
Print RSS

Six former University of Maryland men’s lacrosse players were selected to participate in the 2013 Major League Lacrosse All-Star Game, the league announced on June 24.

Three Terps from the Denver Outlaws made the All-Star team with 2012 MLL Defensive Player of the Year Lee Zink (’04) leading the way with his seventh all-star selection. Jeremy Sieverts (’09), the MLL’s Most Improved Player in 2012, is making his second all-star appearance, while Drew Snider (’12) will be making his all-star game debut. Snider is fourth in the league in scoring so far in 2013 with 30 points on 21 goals (one two-pointer) and eight assists.

Joe Walters (’06), the Terps’ all-time leader in points and goals, of the Hamilton Nationals will be making his sixth all-star appearance. He is currently tied for sixth in the league in scoring with 25 points on 12 goals and 13 assists in just six games after helping the Rochester Knighthawks claim its second-straight NLL Championship.

A pair of Terps from the Charlotte Hounds will be playing in their first all-star game on their home field. Ryan Young (’11) is in his first season with the Hounds after being traded by the New York Lizards and is tied for eighth in the league in scoring with 24 points on 19 goals and five assists. Brett Schmidt (’11) will also be making his all-star game debut after being tied for fourth in the league with 26 groundballs through eight games to go along with a goal and an assist.

The 2013 MLL All-Star Game will be played on July 13 at American Legion Memorial Stadium in Charlotte. The all-stars were selected through a balloting process by MLL coaches and general managers. The 38 all-stars will be divided into two teams as selected by the winners of the MLL Ultimate Fan Fantasy contest.