Academic Honors

Maryland Athletics
Print RSS

LeFrak Scholarship

Samuel J. LeFrak
The Samuel J. and Ethel LeFrak Foundation donated $1 million in 2003 to establish the Samuel J. LeFrak Scholars Fund at the University of Maryland.

The gift will fund annual LeFrak Scholars in the sports of men's basketball, football and men's track. Beginning in 2004-05, the three LeFrak scholarships have been awarded annually, concurrently and in perpetuity to three student-athletes who exhibit extraordinary athletic ability, leadership and academic achievement.

Men's basketball player Nik Caner-Medley was the first-ever recipient of the LeFrak Scholarship at Maryland for the 2003-04 season and Sean Lowe earned the honor for men's track.

Defensive lineman A.J. Francis has been the recipient from the football team the last three years.

Prior to his death in April 2003, Samuel J. LeFrak, a 1940 graduate of the University of Maryland and one of its most distinguished alumni, was chairman of the Lefrak Organization, one of the world's largest private development companies. The firm's accomplishments include building Lefrak City, a community of apartments, stores and office buildings in Queens, N.Y.; and creating and developing Battery Park City in New York City, as well as Newport, a $10 billion mixed-use community in New Jersey on 600 acres overlooking the Hudson River.

While a student at Maryland, LeFrak was a varsity track letterman, president of the Latch Key Honor Society, and an officer of his class and of Tau Epsilon Phi.

"In keeping with Dr. LeFrak's dedicated support of the university for more than 60 years, the foundation is happy to sustain his wishes to help the school in its many endeavors to maintain high scholastic and athletic standards," said Deborah Dolan, director of the LeFrak Foundation.

"The LeFrak scholar-athletes will serve as role models to young people across the country," said then-director of athletics Deborah A. Yow. "We are very grateful for the generosity of Dr. and Mrs. LeFrak."

Past LeFrak Scholars
2004 Nick Novak
2005 Josh Wilson
2006 Adam Podlesh
2007 Edwin Williams
2008 Dan Gronkowski
2009 A.J. Francis
2010 A.J. Francis
2011 A.J. Francis

National Academic Honors

Academic All-Americans
1st Team    
1953 Bernie Faloney B
1975 Kim Hoover WR
1978 Joe Muffler DE

2nd Team
1970 Steve Fromang T
1977 Jonathan Claiborne S
1977 Joe Muffler DE

3rd Team
1958 Gene Varardi B
NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship
1978 Jonathan Claiborne S
ACC Weaver-James-Corrigan Postgraduate Scholarship
2006-07 Adam Podlesh P
2008-09 Dean Muhtadi DL
Academic All-ACC Selections
1954 John Irvine C
  George Palahunik G
1955 John Healey HB
  Stanley Polyanski G
1956 Donald Healey T
  Mike Sandusky T
  Tom Selep FB
1960 Dwayne Fletcher HB
1961 Bob Hacker C
  Dick Novak QB
1963 David Nardo G
1967 Chuck Tine G
1968 Ralph Friedgen OG
1970 Pat Burke OG
  Jerry Erhard WB
  Steve Fromang C
  Len Santacroce C
  Scott Shank FB
1972 Jerry Erhard E
1973 Kim Hoover WR
1974 Bob Avellini QB
  Jim Brechbiel DB
  Derick Harris DT
  Rick Jennings TB
  Tom Schick OG
  Phil Wagenheim P
1975 Mike Cielensky DB
  Kim Hoover WR
  John Schultz WB
1976 Jonathan Claiborne S
  Gene Ochap C
  Bob Raba TE
1977 Jonathan Claiborne S
  Ralph Lary S
  Chris Ward DB
  Kenny Watson DT
1978 John Baldante DB
  G. Chamberlain OG
  Scott Collins OT
  Ralph Lary S
  Phil Livingston OT
  Joe Muffler DE
  Dean Richards WB
1979 Jan Carinci WB
  Ralph Lary S
  Phil Livingston OT
  Kyle Lorton C
  Jim Shaffer DE
1980 Ralph Lary S
  Kyle Lorton C
1981 Mike Mueller LB
  Brian Riendeau OG
1982 Joe Aulisi DE
1983 Greg Harraka OT
1984 Greg Harraka OT
  Frank Reich QB
  Richard Shure FB
1985 Dolph Tokarczyk TE
1986 Mark Agent OT
  Richard Shure FB
  John Sorna OT
1987 A. Abdur-Ra'oof WR
  Bob Arnold DG
  Ken Oberle OT
  Richard Shure FB
  John Sorna OT
1988 Ken Oberle OT
1989 Dean Green WR
1990 Rick Fleece NG
  Barry Johnson WR
  Glenn Page LB
  Chad Wiestling HB
1991 Lubo Zizakovic DT
1992 Marcus Badgett WR
  Scott Rosen S
1993 Russ Weaver WR
1994 Russ Weaver WR
  Mike Settles LB
  Al Wallace DE
1995 Al Wallace DE
1996 Al Wallace DE
1997 Mike Hull TE
  Eric Ogbogu DE
1998 Jamie Wu OG
1999 Kevin Bishop LB
  Todd Wike OG
  Jamie Wu OG
2000 Guilian Gary WR
  Charles Hill DT
  Tony Jackson SS
  Tony Okanlawon CB
2001 Brooks Barnard P
  Melvin Fowler C
  Shaun Hill QB
  Rod Littles S
  Todd Wike OG
2002 Brooks Barnard P
  Nick Novak PK
  Steve Suter PR
  Todd Wike C
  Madieu Williams FS
2003 Jeff Dugan TE
  C.J. Feldheim DT
  Kyle Schmitt C
  Nick Novak PK
  Adam Podlesh P
  Steve Suter SP
  Dennard Wilson S
2004 D. Foxworth CB
  Nick Novak PK
  Adam Podlesh P
  Kyle Schmitt C
  Steve Suter WR
2005 Adam Podlesh P
  Josh Wilson CB
2006 Adam Podlesh P
  Josh Wilson CB
2007 Travis Baltz P
  Phil Costa OL
  Andrew Crummey OL
  Obi Egekeze PK
  Dan Gronkowski TE
  Edwin Williams OL
2008 Travis Baltz P
  Phil Costa OL
  Rick Costa LB
  Obi Egekeze PK
  Dan Gronkowski TE
  Dean Muhtadi DL
  Dane Randolph OL
  Edwin Williams OL
2009 Travis Baltz P
  A.J. Francis DL
  Bennett Fulper OL
2010 Travis Baltz P
  A.J. Francis DL
  Bennett Fulper OL
  Pail Pinegar OL
2011 Tyler Cierski RB
  A.J. Francis DL
  Bennett Fulper OL
  Dexter McDougle DB