All-America Tradition

Maryland Athletics
Print RSS

Beginning with Ivan Marty, Cecil Branner, Charles Brewer, Joseph Burger and Ralph Heidelbach in 1923 to Bryan Cole, Isaiah Davis-Allen, Kyle Bernlohr, Matt Dunn, Matt Rambo, Greg Danseglio, Tim Muller and Colin Heacock in 2016, Maryland has a long and distinguished list of Terrapin men's lacrosse players that have earned All-America honors during their tenure in College Park.

Terp men's lacrosse players have earned first team All-America honors 122 times since the awards began in 1922. In total, Maryland has had 477 student-athletes named All-Americans.

Other than 1944 and 1945 when Maryland did not field a team due to World War II, the Terps have had at least two All-Americans every season since 1923.

Six Terrapins earned All-America honors in each of their four seasons, including Frank Urso, who is still one of just four players in the history of college lacrosse to be a four-time first team All-American.

Charles Wicker (1953-56) - HM/3rd/1st/1st
Frank Urso (1973-76) - 1st/1st/1st/1st
Bob Ott (1976-79) - 3rd/3rd/HM/2nd
Bob Boniello (1977-80) - HM/2nd/1st/3rd
Peter Worstell (1977-81) - 2nd/2nd/2nd/1st
Joe Walters (2003-06) - HM/1st/2nd/1st

In addition to those six, 45 Terps have been named All-Americans three times during their careers. Among those are Charles Ellinger (1935-37) and Gordon Pugh (1931-33), who each were first team All-Americans in all three of their seasons as Terps. The only other three-time first team All-American for Maryland was defender Mike Farrell (1974-77).

Maryland turns out All-Americans regardless of where student-athletes play on the field. Since 1923, 42 attackmen have earned first team All-America honors. Defense comes in a close second with 39, while 28 midfielders have been selected first-teamers. The Terps have also had 14 goalies selected to the first team. In 2016, Isaiah Davis-Allen became the first short stick defensive midfielder from Maryland selected as a First Team All-American.

The attack has turned out the most All-Americans for Maryland with 152 total selections. The most selections for a position in a single season are six midfielders on the 1973 National Championship team (Doug Schreiber, Frank Urso, Doug Radebaugh, Gary Besosa, Larry Hubbard and Brooks Sleeper).