Three Terps Earn ACC Softball All-Tournament Selections

May 16, 2004

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. - University of Maryland senior pitcher Monica Cyphert (Warren, Ohio), freshman second baseman Keri Lounge (Pasadena, Md.) and junior third baseman Crystal Rizzuto (San Leandro, Calif.) were chosen to the 2004 ACC All-Tournament team Sunday. The team members were announced after the conclusion of the championship game between No. 1 seed Florida State and No. 4 seed Georgia Tech. The Maryland softball program has not had this many players named to the all-tournament team since Maryland split the tournament title with Florida State in 1997.

Cyphert pitched the Terrapins to tournament victories against No. 3 seed Virginia and No. 5 seed NC State. Cyphert maintained a 1.65 ERA in 17 innings during the weekend. She also struck out 13 batters in her four appearances. The senior not only pitched well during her final collegiate stand, but also batted .333 (3-for-9) and drove in four runs. Cyphert also hit her fourth home run of the year while pitching her team to a shutout win over NC State. Her .778 slugging percentage was tops on the Terrapin squad during the tournament.

Lounge played a pivotal part in Maryland's 5-3 win over Virginia Friday night. She went 2-for-4 with a double and scored the game-winning run against the Cavaliers. The All-ACC selection kept her offensive output at a high level, with a hit in each of Maryland's next three games. Lounge also drove in three runs for the Terrapins during the course of the tournament.

Rizzuto earned her second consecutive all-tournament team nod. The junior had a perfect 3-for-3 day at the plate against Virginia and also scored two runs in the Maryland victory. Rizzuto ended the tournament with a .500 batting average (6-for-12) and three RBIs.

Maryland finished fourth in the tournament with a 2-2 record. The Terrapins ended their season Saturday night after losing to No. 24 Georgia Tech, 6-4. Maryland finished the year 33-27. The 33 wins tie the third-best wins total in program history.

The members of the 2004 ACC Softball All-Tournament team are as follows:
2004 All-Tournament Team
Monica Cyphert, Maryland
Tara Knudsen, Georgia Tech
Keri Lounge, Maryland
Lesley Palmer, Florida State
Crystal Rizzuto, Maryland
Jessica Sallinger, Georgia Tech
Natashalyn Snipes, North Carolina
Jessica van der Linden, Florida State
Elisa Vasquez, Florida State
Beth Wade, Florida State
Sara Wissmann, Georgia Tech
MVP: Casey Hunter, Florida State