Two Terps Selected For All-ACC Second Softball Team

May 11, 2006

RALEIGH, N.C. - Junior Lindsay Klein and freshman Lindsey Ubrun were named to the All Atlantic Coast Conference Second Team at the ACC annual softball banquet in Raleigh, N.C. last evening.

The award marks the second all-conference selection for Klein, who was named to the All-ACC First Team in 2005. This season, Klein holds a .283 batting average and has recorded the team-high of 14 doubles.

Klein advanced to the sixth spot on Maryland's all-time list for career home runs after knocking her 16th career home run in the April 23 matchup against Boston College. She is one of three Terps to have played and started in all 57 games this season.

Third base freshman starter Ubrun registers a .327 batting average and leads the team with 37 RBI and eleven home runs. The Riverside, Calif. native now leads Maryland's all-time record list for home runs in a single season, surpassing Kiesha Pickeral ('01), Beth Radford ('01) and Kelly Shipman ('99) last weekend in the series with Florida State. With 37 RBI, Ubrun needs one RBI to tie the record for RBI in a single-season, currently held by Beth Radford ('99).

The No. 7 seeded Terps (32-25, 7-13 ACC) start post-season play in the ACC Tournament on Thursday, May 11 in a 12:30 p.m. contest against the No. 2 seed, North Carolina. The game can be followed on Game Tracker.

First Team, (alphabetical by school)

Yuruby Alicart, Florida State

Natasha Jacob, Florida State

Veronia Wootson, Florida State

Whitney Haller, Georgia Tech

Amy Hosier, Georgia Tech

Breanna Brown, North Carolina

Crystal Cox, North Carolina

Shaina Ervin, NC State

Abbie Sims, NC State

Angela Tincher, Virginia Tech

Second Team, (alphabetical by school)

Jenna Macchi, Boston College

LaShaun Davis, Florida State

Caitlyn Lever, Georgia Tech

Lindsay Klein, Maryland

Lindsey Ubrun, Maryland

Cassie Palmer, North Carolina

Jen Chamberlin, NC State

Jessica Taylor, Virginia

Jessica Everhart, Virginia Tech

Charisse Mariconda, Virginia Tech

Beth Walker, Virginia Tech

Player of the Year

Angela Tincher, Virginia Tech

Pitcher of the Year

Angela Tincher, Virginia Tech

Freshman of the Year

Whitney Haller, Virginia Tech

Coach of the Year

Lisa Navas, NC State