Teams Enjoy Inaugural Terp Awards

Maryland Athletics
Print RSS

May 8, 2012

Photo Gallery

COLLEGE PARK, Md. - Student-athletes, coaches and teams were honored Tuesday for prowess in academics, community service and athletics at the inaugural Terp Awards held at the Clarice Smith Performing Arts Center on campus.

The awards ceremony is an expanded version of the President's Cup Brunch and includes a number of new awards honoring student-athletes and coaches. The ceremony was co-sponsored by the Terrapin Club and the `M' Club.

Men's lacrosse player Joe Cummings earned Male Athlete of the Year and Alyssa Thomas of women's basketball was voted the Suzanne Tyler Female Athlete of the Year in balloting by the coaches.

Nick Faust of the men's basketball team, women's track and field freshman Thea LaFond and Brene Moseley of women's basketball shared Rookie of the Year honors.

The 2011 Maryland field hockey team, which went from unseeded in the tournament to a NCAA national championship last fall was the first-ever Terrapin Cup Team of the Year.

Highlighting the academic awards were the presentation of the President's Cup Team GPA Awards to men's tennis and volleyball. University President Wallace Loh presented the awards.

Other awards given during the ceremony were:

Academic Achievement (awarded to junior or senior from each team with the highest cumulative GPA, minimum 3.0) - Owen Blye, men's lacrosse; Lucile Cancre, women's track & field; Kayla Clarke, women's soccer; Jonathan Dillard, men's basketball; Joshua Finkle, men's track & field; Bennett Fulper, football; Jordan Hansbrough, women's tennis; Brett Harman, baseball; Alexis Holmes, women's golf; Danielle Jenkins, acrobatics & tumbling; Danielle Kauffman, field hockey; Taylor Kemp, men's soccer; Nicole Maier, softball; Elizabethe Manzi, gymnastics; Chris Miller, men's golf; David Nguyen, men's tennis; Sean O'Leary, men's cross country; Alex Pagnotta, wrestling; Kimberly Rodgers, women's basketball; Anna Roth, women's cross country; Katie Schwarzmann, women's lacrosse; Rachel Stein, water polo; Sean Stewart, men's swimming; Erin Stout, women's swimming; Sharon Strizak, volleyball.

ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year (male and female who exhibit the characteristics of the ultimate Terrapin, excelling the classroom, in the athletic arena and in community service) - Harriet Tibble, field hockey; Brett Harman, baseball.

`M' Club Postgraduate Scholarship (male and female who excelled academically and athletically, will have earned a degree by May 2012 and are pursuing postgraduate study) - Allison Fried, women's cross country; Kyle John, wrestling.


Geary F. Eppley Award (letterwinner with highest overall scholastic average) - Sean O'Leary, men's cross country

Charles H. Beebe Jr. Award (senior letterwinner with highest career GPA) - Alexis Holmes, women's golf

Talbot T. Speer Award (male athlete whose commitment and dedication serves as an inspiration) - Zack Ray, men's track & field

Charles P. McCormick Award (Baltimore-area senior contributing the most to athletics) - Sean Mosley, men's basketball

John W. Guckeyson Award (scholarship, leadership and superior athletic ability) - Kyle John, wrestling

Founders Award (outstanding athletic ability, academic excellence, character and citizenship) - Kimberly Rodgers, women's basketball

James H. Kehoe Award (state of Maryland senior symbolizing commitment, dedication, spirit and the will to win) - Karri Ellen Johnson, women's lacrosse

Silvester Watch (athlete who typifies best in college athletics) - Megan Frazer, field hockey

Maryland Watch (best male athlete of the year from the state of Maryland) - Josh Asper, wrestling

Lifetime Service Awards - Jack Flynn, J. Logan Schutz


Maryland Athletics Community Service Awards - Sade Ayinde, women's soccer; Anjale Barrett, women's basketball; Sander Beck, baseball; Jake Bernhardt, men's lacrosse; Chris Brown, men's track & field; DeAnna Brown, women's track & field; Carly Hoshko, water polo; Kyle John, wrestling; Janessa Pope, field hockey; Owen Smith, wrestling; Martha VanLieshout, women's swimming.

ACC Community Service Awards - Joe Cummings, men's lacrosse; A.J. Francis, football; Brian Marcoux, wrestling; Briana Melander, gymnastics; Sean Mosley, men's basketball; Becca Pang, gymnastics.

NCAA Champs / Life Skills Cup Team Winners - Gymnastics, Wrestling.


Most Inspiring Award (student-athlete whose commitment and dedication serves as an inspiration) - Kiani Profit, women's track & field

Sportsmanship Awards - Ashley Cromartie, women's cross country; Owen Smith, wrestling

Male Coach of the Year - Kerry McCoy, wrestling

Female Co-Coaches of the Year - Brenda Frese, women's basketball; Missy Meharg, field hockey

- Terps -