Live Chat
Muhtadi, Scholl, Vagts Receive ACC Postgraduate Scholarships
Courtesy: Maryland Athletics
Release: 03/26/2009

March 26, 2009

  • ACC Announces 2009 Postgraduate Scholarship Recipients

    GREENSBORO, N.C. - Maryland's Dean Muhtadi (football), Sarah Scholl (field hockey) and Christen Vagts (water polo) were among 42 Atlantic Coast Conference scholar-athletes have been named recipients of postgraduate scholarships, as announced by Commissioner John D. Swofford earlier this month.

    The Weaver-James-Corrigan and Jim and Pat Thacker scholarships are given to selected student-athletes who intend to pursue a graduate-level degree following graduation. Each recipient will receive $5,000 to use towards his or her graduate education. Student-athletes receiving the award have performed with distinction in both the classroom and in their respective sports, while demonstrating exemplary conduct in the community.

    In addition to those receiving scholarship funds, six student-athletes will receive Weaver-James-Corrigan Honorary Awards, including Maryland's Dan Gronkowski (football). These students will be recognized for their outstanding performance in both athletic competition and the classroom throughout their collegiate careers and intend to compete at the Olympic or professional level.

    The 42 student-athletes will be honored on April 15, 2009, in Greensboro, N.C., at a luncheon with the Nat Greene Kiwanis Club serving as host. The luncheon will be held at the Koury Convention Center.

  • umterps Field Hockey

    More InfoLive Events ScheduleLog In
    Official Marketplace of UM Terps
    Marketplace Auctions
    Marketplace - Auctions
    Marketplace Store
    Team Issued Gear
    Marketplace Ticktes
    Marketplace Photo Store
    Terrapin Club - Marketplace

    More Module