Terps Close Season With Banquet

Dec. 9, 2012

COLLEGE PARK, Md. - The Maryland field hockey team honored its eight seniors and their families and celebrated the 2012 season at its annual banquet Sunday in Heritage Hall.

The coaching staff honored the eight seniors with end of the year awards. Senior co-captain Janessa Pope was awarded the Kate Kauffman-Beach Award, an honor that goes to a player epitomizes the "world class" hockey player that demonstrates the technical and tactical skills coupled with the heart of a champion.

Danielle Kauffman and Lindsey Puckett received the Sabrina Salam Award, an honor given to an upper classman that demonstrates an elite level of quality of life academically, socially, athletically and spiritually while exemplifying a championship lifestyle.

The Kateri Simon Award is the team's Unsung Hero honor. Colleen Gulick and Tara Zollinger were named the recipients as the athletes that have persevered in times of adversity and have displayed courage while bringing positive energy to all team sessions.

For the second time in her career, Harriet Tibble received the Carla Tagliente Award, the honor given to the student-athlete that displays excellence on the field and in the classroom.

Kirstie Dennig was honored with the Keli Smith Award. She was the player who was the team's 'straight shooter'. She was named as the player that wears her emotions on her sleeve and sets her sights on achieving the high level goals she sets for herself.

Megan Frazer received the Dina Rizzo Award, an honor that is not given every year, but only when one deserves it, for the leader that leads by example with passion and commitment to winning.

Members of the team were honored with their Varsity letters for their performances this season and the seniors were granted their membership to the M Club.

Earlier this fall, three Terrapins were named All-Americans. Frazer, Tibble and junior Jill Witmer were all honored as NFHCA All-Americans.

The Terps advanced to their fifth straight Final Four this fall and 15th under head coach Missy Meharg. This year's senior class went to four straight Final Fours and won two ACC titles and two NCAA titles.

- Terps -