Susie Rowe Captures 2009 Honda Award

Dec. 15, 2008

Rowe 2009 Photo Gallery

NEW YORK - Susie Rowe has capped off a storybook senior season by earning the Honda Award as the top collegiate field hockey player, it was announced Monday. The honor was based on the results of national balloting among 1,000 NCAA member schools as part of the Collegiate Women Sports Awards program, now in its 33rd year.

Rowe earned the award with a record-setting senior campaign. Leading the Terrapins to their third national championship in her four years, Rowe finished with 28 goals and 74 total points, both all-time Maryland records.

The senior back was the Terps' go-to scorer on penalty corners, and proved why in the second half of the National Championship game, scoring what would eventually be the game-winner off a penalty corner assist from sophomore Katie O'Donnell.

"I was speechless when I found out that I had won the Honda Sports Award," noted Rowe. "Ever since I came to the States I have had one amazing experience after another. I feel very fortunate to have had this opportunity to play field hockey at the University of Maryland. I have to thank my teammates and of course my coach Missy Meharg, who has taught me so many things I don't know where to start. I'd also like to add that I could never have achieved what I have without the incredible support of my parents, who brought me back and forth from more practices and games than I'll ever remember!"

A native of London, England, Rowe is a three-time first-team All-American, the sixth Terrapin to earn the distinction three times. This season's ACC Defensive Player of the Year, Rowe earned ACC Tournament MVP honors as a freshman and senior, the fifth player in league history to be named MVP of the tournament twice. She also was named to the All-NCAA Tournament team, and last week was honored as the ECAC Division I Field Hockey Player of the Year.

Rowe's win marks the fourth time that a University of Maryland field hockey player has been honored with the award. Autumn Welsh won in 2002 and Paula Infante won twice, in 2006 and 2007.

The Honda Sports Award is given annually to the top women athletes in 12 NCAA-sanctioned sports, along with automatic nomination for the Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year. Rowe was voted over three other nominees: Laurie Pfeiffer, a senior at University of Iowa, Shannon Taylor, a senior at Syracuse University and Jennifer Long, a senior at Penn State. The candidates were selected by the National Field Hockey Coaches Association.

Rowe is a marketing major with a 3.5 GPA. She has been on the Dean's Honor Roll for seven semesters and three times on the ACC Honor Roll.

The first Honda Sports Award recipient for this year, Texas Tech's Sally Kipyego, was named last week for cross-country. Honda Sports Award winners in basketball, golf, gymnastics, lacrosse, soccer, softball, swimming & diving, tennis, volleyball, and track & field will be announced in the coming months. The Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year will be determined by separate balloting involving all NCAA-member institutions and the winner will receive the Honda-Broderick Cup at a ceremony in New York in June 2009.

American Honda Motor Co., Inc. sponsors the Collegiate Women Sports Awards Program.