Mullins Wins MAC Hermann Trophy

Jan. 11, 2013

ST. LOUIS, Mo. - Junior forward Patrick Mullins from the University of Maryland is the winner of the 2012 Missouri Athletic Club's Hermann Trophy, presented to the best male player in NCAA Division I soccer.

The winners were decided by a vote of NCAA Division I soccer coaches whose programs are current members of the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA), along with a fan vote that cumulatively counted as the equivalent of one coach's vote.

Mullins, a New Orleans, La., native, led Maryland's high-scoring attack with 17 goals and 10 assists. He tallied seven game-winners to lead Maryland to the best winning percentage in the country (20-1-3). The Terps advanced to the College Cup for the 12th time in program history in 2012.

An NSCAA First Team All-American, Mullins' 2012 season ranks sixth in points and goals, and eighth in assists in Maryland program single-season history. The forward was named ACC Offensive Player of the Year and tabbed Most Valuable Player at the ACC Championship after leading the Terps to their third ACC tournament crown since 2008.

He also helped Maryland capture the ACC regular season crown for the first time since 2005. Mullins is the second player in Maryland history to win the MAC Hermann Trophy. Jason Garey - also from New Orleans - received the crystal soccer ball trophy in 2005.