Meharg Named National Coach of the Year

Jan. 20, 2009

COLLEGE PARK, Md. - The National Field Hockey Coaches Association has announced that Missy Meharg, head coach of the National Champion Maryland field hockey program, is its Coach of the Year for an unprecedented seventh time.

Meharg led the Terrapins to its sixth National Championship in 2008, going 22-2 on the year. Maryland also claimed its seventh ACC Tournament title as part of a season-ending 12-game winning streak.

The Terps, who were ranked No. 1 in the nation for much of the season, defeated No. 2 Wake Forest in the title games of the ACC and NCAA Tournaments.

After learning of the honor, Meharg was quick to shower praise on her staff, Marybeth Freeman and Tjerk van Herwaarden, calling them the "Coaching Staff of the Year."

"This amazing coaching unit is a symbol of success," Meharg said. "Marybeth Freeman and Tjerk van Herwaarden work so diligently and positively to influence the players' lives on and off the field. From technology to goal keeping, from improving skills to reaching our desired GPA, this staff stand for commitment. This is a coaching staff award which we are honored to have received on behalf of this 2008 championship team."

Meharg earns her seventh National Coach of the Year award at the conclusion of her 21st season at the helm of the Terps. Freeman has been on Meharg's staff for six seasons, while van Herwaarden has been in College Park for the last four years.

Maryland has won three of the last four NCAA National Championships (2005, 06 and 08). Meharg, who is 367-100-9 over her 21-year career, has been named the National Coach of the Year at the conclusion of all three seasons.