Two Terps Taken in First Round of MLS Draft

Jan. 17, 2013

INDIANAPOLIS - Maryland seniors John Stertzer and Taylor Kemp were both selected in the first round of the 2013 Major League Soccer SuperDraft Thursday.

Stertzer was selected by Real Salt Lake with the 12th overall pick. The Oakton, Va., product tallied NSCAA Third Team All-America honors as a junior and a senior. The midfielder also registered All-ACC first team accolades as a senior for the second consecutive year.

Kemp was picked up by DC United with the 17th overall selection. A Highlands Ranch, Colo., native, Kemp was a two-time All-ACC selection and a four-year starter in Maryland's back line. He helped lead the Terps to two ACC tournament titles.

"We are thrilled for John and Taylor as they take their soccer careers to the next level," head coach Sasho Cirovski said. "They were both tremendous assets to our program for the last four years and we are confident they will make Terp Nation very proud at Real Salt Lake and DC United."

Maryland has now had at least one player selected in the MLS SuperDraft for 10 straight years. London Woodberry - the third member of this year's senior class - signed a Homegrown contract with FC Dallas earlier this month.

Below is a breakdown of Maryland and the MLS SuperDraft:

2013 - John Stertzer, first round (12th overall)
2013 - Taylor Kemp, first round (17th overall)
2012 - Casey Townsend, first round (fifth overall)
2011 - Zac MacMath, first round (fifth overall)
2011 - Billy Cortes, third round (38th overall)
2011 - Jason Herrick, third round (45th overall)
2010 - Drew Yates, second round (29th overall)
2010 - Kevin Tangney, third round (35th overall)
2009 - Omar Gonzalez, first round (third overall)
2009 - Rodney Wallace, first round (sixth overall)
2009 - Jeremy Hall, first round (11th overall)
2009 - A.J. Delagarza, second round (19th overall)
2009 - Graham Zusi, second round (23rd overall)
2008 - Stephen King, third round (40th overall)
2007 - Maurice Edu, first round (first overall)
2007 - Chris Seitz, first round (fourth overall)
2006 - Jason Garey, first round, (third overall)
2006 - Marc Burch, second round (24th overall)
2006 - Michael Dello-Russo, fourth round (42nd overall)
2006 - Kenney Bertz, fourth round (47th overall)
2005 - Domenic Mediate, second round (23rd overall)
2005 - Abe Thompson, supplemental draft second round (16th overall)
2005 - Noah Palmer, supplemental draft third round (25th overall)
2004 - Clarence Goodson, first round (seventh overall)
2004 - Scott Buete, first round (ninth overall)
2004 - Seth Stammler, second round (18th overall)
2004 - Sumed Ibrahim, second round (20th overall)
2002 - Taylor Twellman, first round (second overall)
2001 - Nick Downing, second round (21st overall)
2000 - Dan Califf, first round (sixth overall)
1999 - Keith Beach, second round (17th overall)
1999 - Randy Merkel, third round (33rd overall)
1998 - Leo Cullen, first round (first overall)
1998 - R.T. Moore, third round (34th overall)