Dewey, Leto Named Big Ten Outstanding Sportsmanship Honorees

Maryland Athletics
Print RSS

Big Ten Release

ROSEMONT, Ill. – Senior Hannah Dewey of the Maryland softball team and junior Alex Leto of the Maryland track and field program were named the Terrapins' Big Ten Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners in a release made by the conference offices this afternoon. The Big Ten recognized one male and one female student-athlete from all 14 member institutions for demonstrating outstanding sportsmanship and competitive spirit.  

The duo was recognized at May's Terp Awards as this year's James H. Kehoe award recipients, given to the male and female student-athletes who best exemplify the ideals of sportsmanship.

Dewey is a native of Temecula, Calif. and graduated with a degree in agricultural and resource economics this past May. She was a four-year member of the Maryland softball team, playing primarily as a pitcher and designated player while serving as a team captain. Dewey was the president of the Student Athlete Advisory Committee in 2016-17, and remained very active in the community and Terrapin Athletics. The Big Ten All-Academic honoree spearheaded numerous philanthropy campaigns and events for student-athletes during her tenure with the SAAC.

Leto is a native of Old Bridge, N.J. pursuing a degree in kinesiology. The junior team captain is the school record holder in the indoor 300 meter run set earlier this season at the Terrapin Invitational. Leto is a SAAC Executive Board and Task Force Committee member, a Big Ten All-Academic Selection and has done community service with SAAC Outreach, Special Olympics and Terp Reading Day.