Zusi, Gonzalez Named to 2014 FIFA World Cup Roster

Maryland Athletics
Print RSS

CHICAGO - Former Terrapin standouts Omar Gonzalez and Graham Zusi have been tabbed to the 23-player U.S. Men’s National Team roster for the 2014 FIFA World Cup this summer in Brazil, announced by U.S. MNT head coach Jurgen Klinsmann Thursday.

Gonzalez and Zusi will be making their first appearance in the World Cup after seeing great success as both collegians and professionals.

Gonzalez made his international debut for the U.S. MNT on Aug. 10, 2010 against Brazil and has made numerous appearances on the MLS Starting XI as a premier defender for the Los Angeles Galaxy. Zusi was invited to U.S. MNT's 2012 January camp in preparation for two friendlies against Venezuela and Panama and went on to start both matches, scoring the lone goal in the win against Panama. He is also a fixture in the MLS Starting XI as a midfielder for Sporting Kansas City.

Seven players, including former Terps Maurice Edu and Clarence Goodson, have been placed on a standby list and are returning to their respective club teams.

The U.S. MNT will play three matches in its Send-Off Series from May 27-June 7 in San Francisco, New York and Jacksonville, Fla. The Send-Off Series kicks off with USA vs. Azerbaijan at 7 p.m. on May 27 at Candlestick Park in San Francisco. The USA then hosts Turkey at 2 p.m. on June 1 at Red Bull Arena in Harrison, N.J., before traveling to Jacksonville, Fla., to face Nigeria on June 7 at 6 p.m. at EverBank Field. All three Send-Off Series matches will be broadcast live on ESPN2, WatchESPN, UniMas and ESPN Deportes Radio.

GOALKEEPERS (3): Brad Guzan (Aston Villa), Tim Howard (Everton), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)
DEFENDERS (8): DaMarcus Beasley (Puebla), Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), John Brooks (Hertha Berlin), Geoff Cameron (Stoke City), Timmy Chandler (Nürnberg), Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy), Fabian Johnson (Borussia Mönchengladbach), DeAndre Yedlin (Seattle Sounders FC)
MIDFIELDERS (8): Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Alejandro Bedoya (Nantes), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Brad Davis (Houston Dynamo), Mix Diskerud (Rosenborg), Julian Green (Bayern Munich), Jermaine Jones (Besiktas), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)
FORWARDS (4): Jozy Altidore (Sunderland), Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders FC), Aron Johannsson (AZ Alkmaar), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)