Amato Wins Kelly Award As Nation's Most Outstanding Goalie

Maryland Athletics
Print RSS

COLLEGE PARK, Md. – University of Maryland senior Niko Amato was selected as the winner of the 2014 Ensign C. Markland Kelly, Jr. Award, which is presented annually to the nation’s most outstanding goalie in NCAA Division I men’s lacrosse by the USILA, on Friday.

Amato becomes the fifth Terrapin goalie to win the Kelly Award and is the first since his mentor, Brian “Doc” Dougherty, won the award in back-to-back seasons in 1995 and 1996. In total, a Maryland goalie has won the Kelly Award eight times since it was first given out in 1949.

Maryland’s Ensign C. Markland Kelly, Jr. Award Winners
Niko Amato: 2014
Brian “Doc” Dougherty: 1995, 1996
John Schofield: 1965
James Kappler: 1955, 1956, 1957
William Larash: 1952

The native of Conshohocken, Pa., was named a first team All-American by the USILA on Thursday, May 22, after ranking fourth in the nation with a 7.23 goals against average and eighth with a .566 save percentage.

Amato, who is a three-time All-American for his storied Terrapin career, was named the 2014 ACC Defensive Player of the Year in April and was also the first goalie to ever be a four-time All-ACC selection. He is also just the fifth goalie in Maryland history to earn All-America honors three times during his career and is the first during the NCAA tournament era.

Amato is just the second Maryland goalie to guide his team to three Final Four berths and has started all 66 games of his collegiate career.

Amato and the No. 7-seeded Terps face No. 6 seed Notre Dame on Saturday, May 24, in the Final Four in Baltimore. The Terps/Fighting Irish match-up will be the second game of the Saturday doubleheader that features No. 1 Duke meeting No. 5 Denver in the first game at 1 p.m.

2014 USILA Major Award Winners
Ensign C. Markland Kelly, JR. Award: Outstanding Goalie
Niko Amato, University of Maryland

Lt. j.g. Donald MacLaughlin, JR. Award: Outstanding Midfielder
Tom Schreiber, Princeton University

LT. COL. J.I.(Jack) Turnbull Award: Outstanding Attackman
Lyle Thompson, University at Albany 

William C. Schmeisser Award: Outstanding Defensive Player
Joe Fletcher, Loyola University

LT. Raymond J. Enners Award: Outstanding Player
Lyle Thompson, University at Albany