Beards Named Second Team All-ACC

Maryland Athletics
Print RSS

COLLEGE PARK, Md. – Senior Candice Beards has been named to the 2014 All-Atlantic Coast Conference Second Team today as voted on by the league’s 11 head coaches.

After hitting just .200 through non-conference action, Beards was sensational in ACC play, leading the team in batting average (.394), hits (26), doubles (5) and RBIs (20). She raised her batting average 128 points to .328 by season’s end with her hitting prowess.

Beards recently finished her four-year career as one of Maryland’s most decorated offensive players. The Ringwood, N.J., native ranks fourth in Maryland history in walks (84), fifth in RBIs (110), seventh in triples (5) and ninth in doubles (35).

A career .298 hitter at the plate, Beards memorably eclipsed the 100-RBI mark against Virginia Tech on April 20, smashing a home run over the fence to become the eighth Terrapin in history to reach the milestone. Beards hit better than .316 in each of her final three seasons in College Park.

Florida State took home a bevy of awards including Coach of the Year (Lonni Alameda), Player of the Year (Maddie O’Brien) and Pitcher of the Year (Lacey Waldrop). Notre Dame’s Karley Wester earned Freshman of the Year honors.

Individual Award Winners

Player of the Year – Maddie O’Brien, Florida State

Pitcher of the Year –Lacey Waldrop, Florida State

Freshman of the Year – Karley Wester, Notre Dame

Coach of the Year – Lonni Alameda, Florida State

All-ACC First Team

Lacey Waldrop Jr. P Florida State

Maddie O'Brien Jr. SS Florida State

Karley Wester Fr. OF Notre Dame

Micaela Arizmendi So. 1B Notre Dame

 Courtney Senas Sr. OF Florida State

Kristen Brown So. SS North Carolina

Emily Weiman Jr. P NC State

Laura Winter Sr. P Notre Dame

Sydney O'Hara Fr. P Syracuse

Maddie Lionberger So. 2B Georgia Tech

All-ACC Second Team

Ashley Thomas Sr. SS Georgia Tech

Jessica Burroughs Fr. P Florida State

Emilee Koerner Jr. OF Notre Dame

Renada Davis Jr. SS NC State

Candice Beards Sr. 1B Maryland

Jenna Kelly So. 1B North Carolina

Lauren Gaskill Jr. SS Virginia Tech

Aquilla Mateen So. OF North Carolina

Tory Speer Sr. C Boston College

Carly Thea Jr. OF Pitt

All-ACC Third Team

Jasmine Watson Sr. 1B Syracuse

Victoria East So. 1B Florida State

Cassidy Whidden Jr. C Notre Dame

Shirley Daniels Sr. OF Syracuse

Tori Nirschl So. OF Pitt

Kylie McGoldrick Jr. 2B Virginia Tech

Nicole D'Argento Sr. P Boston College

Megan Cooley So. OF Boston College

Briana Hamilton Sr. 3B Florida State

Katey Smith So. C Virginia Tech