Nation-Best Four Terps Named Tewaaraton Nominees

Maryland Athletics
Print RSS

COLLEGE PARK, Md. - Maryland boasted a nation-best four players on the 27-member 2014 Tewaaraton Award nominee list, announced Friday night.

Taylor Cummings, Megan Douty, Brooke Griffin and Kelly McPartland have all been selected as nominees for college lacrosse’s top individual honor.

Cummings, the 2013 ACC Freshman of the Year, earned All-ACC honors for the second straight season earlier in the week. The sophomore midfielder from Ellicott City, Md., boasts 48 goals and is second on the squad in assists (22) and points (77). She also paces the team with 30 ground balls, 94 draw controls and 26 caused turnovers.

Douty, a junior defender, has been the backbone of Maryland’s defense in 2014. The Terps have surrendered a mere 153 goals in 19 games this season while opponents have averaged 8.05 goals per game against the Terps. The Fair Haven, N.J., product boasts 26 ground balls and 15 caused turnovers this season.

Griffin has been the Terps’ top attacker this season. The redshirt junior from Edgewater, Md., has tallied 58 points on 44 goals and 14 assists in 2014. For the second straight season Griffin racked up All-ACC honors. She notched a tournament-record seven goals against Virginia in the ACC semifinals Friday.

McPartland has also been a force both offensively and defensively for the Terps in 2014. The midfielder from Farmingdale, N.Y., has posted a team-high 76 points as a junior and also boasts Maryland-highs in goals (49) and assists (27) while shooting at a stellar .570 clip (49-for-86).

Five men’s and five women’s finalists will be announced May 8 and invited to the Tewaaraton Award Ceremony. The original men’s and women’s watch lists were announced Feb. 27, with additions made March 20 and April 10, and were ultimately comprised of 66 men’s players and 58 women’s players. The selection committees are comprised of 11 men’s and 11 women’s current and former coaches.

Women’s nominees are as follows: 

Bridget Bianco, Northwestern - Jr., G

Nikki Boltja, Louisville - Sr., A

Frankie Caridi, Stony Brook - Sr., G

Jackie Cifarelli, Ohio State - Jr., A

Taylor Cummings, Maryland - Soph., M

Taylor D'Amore, Johns Hopkins - Sr., A

Megan Douty, Maryland - Jr., D

Lucy Ferguson, Penn - Jr., G

Abbey Friend, North Carolina - Sr., A

Shannon Gilroy, Florida - Jr., A

Brooke Griffin, Maryland - Jr., A

Hannah Hook, Denver - Sr., G

Alyssa Leonard, Northwestern - Sr., A

Meg Markham, Penn - Jr., D

Kerrin Maurer, Duke - Jr., A

Kelly McPartland, Maryland - Jr., M

Kaylin Morissette, Louisville - Soph., M

Alyssa Murray, Syracuse - Sr., A

Marlee Paton, Loyola - Sr., A/M

Mikaela Rix, Boston College - Jr., M

Sloane Serpe, North Carolina - Sr., D

Jaclyn Sileo, LIU Post - Sr., A

Margaret Smith, Notre Dame - Sr., M/D

Covie Stanwick, Boston College - Jr., A

Courtney Swan, Virginia - Jr., A

Kayla Treanor, Syracuse - Soph., A

Taylor Virden, Duke - Sr., D