League-High Four Terps Tabbed First Team All-ACC

Maryland Athletics
Print RSS

GREENSBORO, N.C. The No. 1 Maryland women’s lacrosse team placed a league-high four student-athletes on the First Team All-Atlantic Coast Conference Team, announced by the league office Wednesday.

Taylor Cummings, Megan Douty, Beth Glaros and Kelly McPartland were tabbed to the first team while Brooke Griffin snagged second team honors.

Cummings, the 2013 ACC Freshman of the Year, earned All-ACC honors for the second straight season. The sophomore midfielder from Ellicott City, Md., leads Maryland in goals (44) and is second in assists (21), and points (65). She also paces the team with 26 ground balls, 83 draw controls and 23 caused turnovers.

Douty, a junior defender, has been the backbone of Maryland’s defense in 2014. The Terps have surrendered a mere 135 goals in 17 games this season while opponents have averaged 7.94 goals per game against the Terps. The Fair Haven, N.J., product boasts 23 ground balls and 14 caused turnovers this season.

Glaros has put together the best campaign of her career during her senior season, recording 37 goals as a starting midfielder for the high-scoring Terrapins. The Ellicott City, Md., native is also second on the squad with 46 draw controls and has also registered 22 ground balls.

McPartland has also been a force both offensively and defensively for the Terps in 2014. The midfielder from Farmingdale, N.Y., has posted a team-high 69 points as a junior and also boasts Maryland-highs in goals (44) and assists (25) while shooting at a stellar .571 clip (44-for-77).

Griffin – who joins Cummings, Douty and McPartland as Tewaaraton nominees – has been the Terps’ top attacker this season. The redshirt junior from Edgewater, Md., has tallied 58 points on 44 goals and 14 assists in 2014. It is the second straight season Griffin has racked up All-ACC honors.

Top-seeded Maryland battles Virginia Tech in the quarterfinals of the ACC Championship Thursday at 11 a.m. at Alumni Stadium on the campus of Boston College. The game will be shown live on RSN affiliates.

The 2014 All-ACC Women’s Lacrosse Team:

First Team All-ACC

Abbey Friend, Sr., A, North Carolina %^

Alyssa Murray, Sr., A, Syracuse ^

Kayla Treanor, So., A, Syracuse ^

Taylor Cummings, So., M, Maryland ! ^

Beth Glaros, Sr., M, Maryland

Kelly McPartland, Jr., M, Maryland ^

Mikaela Rix, Jr, M, Boston College %^

Taylor Trimble, Jr., M, Duke ! ^

Megan Douty, Jr., D, Maryland ^

Sloane Serpe, Sr., D, North Carolina % ^

Taylor Virden, Sr., D, Duke !^

Liz Colgan, Sr., G, Virginia

Caylee Waters, Fr., G, North Carolina 

*due to a tie in voting an extra member was added to the team

Second Team All-ACC

Brooke Griffin, R-Jr., A, Maryland !^

Kerrin Maurer, Jr., A, Duke !^

Covie Stanwick, Jr, A, Boston College %^

Courtney Swan, Jr., A, Virginia ^

Megan Will, Jr., A, Virginia Tech 

Sarah Mannelly, So., M, Boston College ^

Aly Messinger, So., A, North Carolina ^

Maddy Morrissey, Sr., M, Duke

Katie Webster, So, M, Syracuse ^

Kasey Mock, Sr., D, Syracuse ^

Margaret Smith, Sr., D, Notre Dame ^

Morgan Stephens, Jr., D, Virginia ^

Megan Ward, So., G, North Carolina

*due to a tie in voting an extra member was added to the team

^ - Tewaaraton Award candidates

% Three-time All-ACC Team selection

! Two-time All-ACC Team selection