Three Terps Named to All-ACC Team

Maryland Athletics
Print RSS

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Senior Jimmy Sheptock leads a group of three University of Maryland wrestlers named to the 2014 All-ACC Wrestling Team, the conference announced Wednesday.

Heavyweight Spencer Myers and 133-pound Tyler Goodwin join Sheptock. The honor is the third for Myers and Sheptock, while Goodwin makes his first appearance.

A 2013 All-American at 184 pounds, Sheptock became the first wrestler in school history to attain a No. 1 national ranking this season. Sheptock recently won his third straight ACC title and enters the NCAA Championships with a 28-0 record.

After serving a redshirt season, Myers returned to the form that saw him win ACC titles in 2011 and 2012. The Selinsgrove, Pa went 23-4 and was the runner up at the 2014 ACC Wrestling Championships.

Goodwin burst onto the scene this season and was the only true freshman to take part in dual action for the Terps. After a fairly productive year, Goodwin shocked top-seeded Shelton Mack of Pittsburgh in the ACC Championship semifinals to qualify for the NCAA Championships.

All three wrestlers will travel to compete at the 2014 NCAA Wrestling Championships in Oklahoma City. The competition begins on March 20 and finishes with the finals on March 22 at the Chesapeake Energy Arena. 

2014 All-ACC Wrestling Team
Name                                School                 Wgt.        Class          Hometown
Edgar Bright                      Pitt                       141           Fr.              Cleveland, Ohio
Blaise Butler                     Virginia                157           So.             Belvidere, Ill.
Devin Carter                     Virginia Tech       141           Jr.              Christiansburg, Va.
Stephen Doty                     Virginia                174           Sr.              St. Louis, Mo.
Tommy Gantt                    NC State               157           Jr.              Cahokia, Ill.
Tyler Goodwin                   Maryland             133           Fr.              Gambrills, Md.
Dennis Gustafson              Virginia Tech       133           Fr.              Woodbridge, Va.
Nick Gwiazdoski                NC State               Hwt.         So.             Delanson, N.Y.
Nathan Kraisser                North Carolina     125           So.             Ellicott City, Md.
Spencer Myers                  Maryland             Hwt.         Sr.              Selinsgrove, Pa.
Zach Neibert                     Virginia Tech       149           Sr.              Dayton, Ohio
Zach Nye                           Virginia                197           So.             Enola, Pa.
Chris Penny                       Virginia Tech       197           Sr.              Virginia Beach, Va.
Mikey Racciato                 Pitt                       149           Fr.              Pen Argyl, Pa.
Jimmy Sheptock                Maryland             184           Sr.              Northampton, Pa.
John Staudenmayer          North Carolina     165           So.             Plymouth Meeting, Pa.
Nick Sulzer                        Virginia                165           Jr.              Cleveland, Ohio
Max Thomusseit               Pitt                       184           Jr.              St. Paris, Ohio
Tyler Wilps                        Pitt                       174           Jr.              Oakdale, Pa.
Anthony Zanetta               Pitt                       125           Sr.              Pittsburgh, Pa.