Mullins Wins Second Straight MAC Hermann Trophy

Maryland Athletics
Print RSS

ST. LOUIS - Senior forward Patrick Mullins put an exclamation point on arguably the most decorated career in Maryland men's soccer history when he captured a second straight MAC Hermann Trophy Friday night. 

The Missouri Athletic Club’s (MAC) Hermann Trophy is presented to the best female and male players in NCAA Division I soccer. The winners were decided by a vote of NCAA Division I soccer coaches that are current members of the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA), along with a weighted fan vote hosted at the MAC’s website hosted by LockerDome.

Mullins becomes the first Terrapin and the seventh player to win back-to-back Hermann Trophies, joining the likes of National Soccer Hall of Famer Al Trost (1969-70) and former U.S. Women’s National Team forward Mia Hamm (1992-93). Mullins capped his senior campaign with 46 points on 19 goals and eight assists. His point and goal totals are both tied for the fifth-highest single season records in Maryland history.

Mullins finished his career second in Terp men’s soccer history with 47 goals and 119 points. He is a two-time First Team All-Atlantic Coast Conference player; a two-time All-ACC Championship Most Valuable Player; a two-time NSCAA All-American; and a 2013 College Cup All-Tournament Team honoree. Mullins led the Terps to a nation-best 13th straight NCAA Round-of-16 in 2013, and captured the ACC regular season and tournament titles for the second consecutive season.

First runner-up for the men’s award was Notre Dame senior forward Harrison Shipp followed by UCLA junior midfielder Leo Stolz.